Graduate students honored for teaching excellence

April 24, 2013  

Graduate students were honored Tuesday (April 23) at the 15th Annual Celebration of Graduate Teaching Excellence, hosted by the Office of the Provost, Teaching Academy, Graduate School, Committee for the Education of Teaching Assistants, and the Center for Instructional Excellence.

The Graduate School Excellence in Teaching Award is the highest honor Purdue gives to a graduate student. Selected students must show excellence in mentoring and teaching undergraduate and/or graduate students, and have proven leadership and accomplishments outside of the classroom in service and outreach as well as scholarly presentations and publications.

The 2013 recipients of the Graduate School Excellence in Teaching Award are Sereen Alkhalili, Basic Medical Sciences; Frank Joy Ankudey, Medicinal Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology; Erin Doss, Communication; and Christine Kassab, Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Science.

The event also recognized graduate students who earned the Purdue University Center for Instructional Excellence Graduate Teaching Certificate or the Advanced Graduate Teaching Certificate.

• The recipients of the Committee for the Education of Teaching Assistants Excellence in Teaching Award are:
Reiko Akiyama, Curriculum and Instruction
Lindsey B. Anderson, Communication
Sara E. Branch, Psychological Sciences        
Mary Brauchla, Nutrition Science
Patrick Bruning, Management
John B. Cabrera, Visual and Performing Arts
Belinda Christina, Food Science
Anthony Cofer, Aeronautics and Astronautics
Shaunak Sarang Dabadghao, Industrial Engineering
Anne Dare, Agricultural and Biological Engineering
Annwesa Dasgupta, Biological Sciences
Julianne Dickerson, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Sarah L. Dumyahn, Forestry and Natural Resources
Marc E. Dziak, English
Yu-Shan Fan, English
Xiaoxiao Fu, Hospitality and Tourism Management
Mallya Ganeshchandra, Civil Engineering
Emre Gencer, Chemical Engineering
Jennifer Lynne Gerndt, Languages and Cultures
Jeeyeon Hahn, Engineering Education
Zachary Hass, Statistics
Jordan Heim, Physics
Kimber Hendrix, Sociology
Theon E. Hill, Communication
LaToya Hobbs, Visual and Performing Arts
Raphael Hora, Mathematics
Naoko Ishikura, Languages and Cultures
Clifford Jack, Educational Studies
Ulhas Kadam, Horticulture and Landscape Architecture
Andrew Kennedy, Computer Graphics Technology
Youngsu Kim, Mathematics
Jennifer E. Kirschner, Aviation Technology
Xiaofei Li, Agricultural Economics
Lu Lu, Mechanical Engineering
Kara Luitjohan, Materials Engineering
Daniel Martin, Entomology
Michael L. Mashtare Jr., Agronomy
Lindley McDavid, Health and Kinesiology
Fadi Meawad, Computer Science
Wilson Judd Melón, Languages and Cultures
Daniel Merrill, Physics
Heather Cherie Moore, American Studies and African-American Studies
Lidia Mrad, Mathematics
Jake Noparstak, Mathematics
Engels Obi, Pharmacy Practice
Stefanie O'Neal, Health Sciences
Sara Panahkhahi, Mechanical Engineering Technology
Jainik P. Panchal, Industrial and Physical Pharmacy
Brendan Powers, Biochemistry
Michael J. Reese, Veterinary Clinical Sciences
Mark Vincent Riofski, Medicinal Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology
Susan Ritchey, Mechanical Engineering
Andrea Sangster, Basic Medical Sciences
Steven R. Schaffner, Building Construction and Management
Sarah A. Schrader, Anthropology
William D. Siska, Comparative Pathobiology
Julie Swanstrom, Philosophy
Brittany Teahan, Economics
Kevin Teng, Electrical and Computer Engineering Technology
Maria Tineo, Human Development and Family Studies
Zach A. Umperovitch, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences
Theodore Van Cott, Nursing
Natalie van Hoose, English
Kyle P. Vealey, English
Eric Villasenor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Joseph Walker, Botany and Plant Pathology
Brandon M. Ward, History
Cory Weaver, Biological Sciences
Melissa Welsh, Youth Development and Agricultural Education
Laura Young, Political Science

* Graduate students who earned the CIE Graduate Teaching Certificate are:
Cristina E. Arauco Escobar, Building Construction Management
Mara Raquel Barbosa, School of Languages and Cultures
Kathryn L. Berlin, Health and Kinesiology
David B. Blasing, Physics
Esra Coskun, Languages and Cultures
Joel Gregory Davis, Chemistry
Lorin Brooke Friley, Communication
Ryan Kough Gibboney, Visual and Performing Arts
Dinara Shashanka Gunasekera, Chemistry
Tatevik Gyulamiryan, Languages and Cultures
Feng He, Health and Kinesiology
Joon Young Kim, Electrical and Computer Engineering
WooRi Kim, Curriculum and Instruction
Katharina Neema Kipp, Languages and Cultures
David Koelle, Building Construction Management
Péter Kovács, Agronomy
James Bradley Lohmeyer, Mechanical Engineering
Yankeng Luo, Mathematics
Lincoln J. McKinley, Political Science and Communication
Mayu Miyamoto, Languages and Cultures
Benjamin Pauli, Forestry and Natural Resources
Daneli López Pérez, Chemistry
Yvette Perullo, Art and Design
Ryan Plis, Anthropology and Women's Studies
Farhan Rahman, Civil Engineering
Rashmi Kalicharan Shrestha, Chemistry
Travis Sondgerath, Agronomy
Amanda Stewart, Food Science
Hannah G. Sturtevant, Chemistry
Julie Swanstrom, Philosophy
Kendra Unruh , Women's Studies
Elizabeth Joan Wirtz, Anthropology
Laura D. Young, Political Science and Communication

* Those earning the Advanced Graduate Teaching Certificate are:
Lindsey B. Anderson, Communication
Robert Craig Morris, Sociology

Faculty-Staff News

More News

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2014-18 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Integrity Statement | Copyright Complaints | Brand Toolkit | Maintained by Marketing and Media

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact us at so we can help.