APSAC welcomes new members, presents Excellence Award

May 17, 2012

Robin Shanks, right, 2011-2012 chair of APSAC, passes the gavel  to Bob Morman, 2012-2013 APSAC chair, on May 9.  (Purdue University photo/Mark Simons)

Download image

The Administrative and Professional Staff Advisory Committee recognized outgoing members and new members at its luncheon and meeting on May 9.

The committee also awarded its second annual APSAC Excellence Award, which recognizes A/P staff who consistently perform at an outstanding level.
The members who completed their terms are Cristina Farmus, Amy Keene, Olivia Maddox, Paul Pratt, Robin Shanks, Ashley Simmons and Mark Straw. Keene, Shanks and Straw will serve as emeritus members for 2012-13.

New members were welcomed at the luncheon and the meeting.

Incoming members and their areas of representation are:

* Kaethe Beck, Intercollegiate Athletics and Vice President for Development.

* David Bowker, College of Engineering and College of Technology.

* Bridget Cadwell, primary representative of Purdue North Central.

* David Cadwell, secondary representative of Purdue North Central.

* Amy Childress, Vice President for Research and Discovery Park.

* Bob Geswein, Vice President for Information Technology.

* Dorothy Hughes, Vice President for Student Affairs.

* Mark Kepler, College of Agriculture and Cooperative Extension, and School of Veterinary Medicine.

* Brenda Knebel, College of Liberal Arts, College of Education and School of Management.

* Shellie Lawson, Associate Vice President for Housing and Food Services.
* Tyson McFall, College of Agriculture and Cooperative Extension, School of Veterinary Medicine.

* Andrea Thomas, Vice President for Information Technology.

* Ben Wiles, College of Science.
Officers for 2012-13 are Bob Morman, chair, and Beau Moore, vice chair.

Tammy Conard-Salvo, associate director of the Purdue Writing Lab, received the second annual APSAC Excellence Award on May 9. (Purdue News Service photo/Mark Simons)

Download image

Also on May 9, the APSAC Excellence Award was presented to Tammy Conard-Salvo, associate director of the Purdue Writing Lab. The annual award recognizes a full-time administrative or professional staff member from the West Lafayette campus who demonstrates excellence by showing initiative, leading by example, showing exemplary customer service, acting as a University ambassador and being a high performer.
Nominators stated that Conard-Salvo has been instrumental in shaping the Writing Lab into a modern and productive place to work and learn. They cited her initiative in developing the lab's mission statement and strategic plan, her leadership in mentoring tutors and supporting their research and development, and her exemplary customer service skills. Also, Conard-Salvo regularly acts as a University ambassador nationally and internationally, and she consistently achieves exemplary performance evaluations, nominators wrote.
Conard-Salvo will receive a plaque and $1,500. APSAC obtained sponsorship for the award from the Office of the Executive Vice President for Business and Finance, Treasurer.