Celebration recognizes graduate students' teaching excellence

April 26, 2012

The annual Celebration of Graduate Student Teaching Excellence on Wednesday (April 25) included the presentation of numerous awards to graduate students.
The following awards were presented:

* The Graduate School Excellence in Teaching Award is the highest honor presented by the University in recognition of graduate student teachers. Graduate students selected for this award must have demonstrated excellence in teaching and mentoring at the undergraduate and/or graduate level and be past recipients of the Committee for the Education of Teaching Assistants Teaching Award. In addition, recipients should have accomplishments in service/outreach and scholarly publications.
This year's recipients are Samar Khirallah, basic medical sciences; Xiaojun Chen, curriculum and instruction; Cristyn L. Elder, English; Nicholas A. Turiano, human development and family studies.

* Committee for the Education of Teaching Assistants Excellence in Teaching Award recipients are selected by each academic department for their commitment to undergraduate education. Departments may select one recipient for every 50 graduate teaching assistants they support.
This year's recipients are:
Logan Larson, aeronautics and astronautics.
Laurent M. Ahiablame, agricultural and biological engineering.
Stephanie Rosch, agricultural economics.
Chun Zao, agronomy.
Zachary Rambo, animal sciences.
Kyle Ellis Jones, anthropology.
Garet Martin, art and design.
Scott R. Winter, aviation technology.
Reem Malek, basic medical sciences.
Christie Eissler, biochemistry.
Sowmya Nagarajan, biological sciences.
Eric Warrick, biological sciences.
Matthew McDermott, biomedical engineering.
Jing Pan, building construction management.
Sally Stevens, botany and plant pathology.
Kevin W. Brew, chemical engineering.
Emmanuela Ohaeri, chemistry.
Taylor Owings, chemistry. 
Lizhen Peng, chemistry.
Sarah St. John, chemistry.
John Newton, civil engineering.
Erin Doss, communication.
Rebecca Katherine Ivic, communication.
Abigail Cox Durkes, comparative pathobiology.
Teresa Shanklin, computer technology.
Thomas Haley-Hermiz, computer graphics technology.
Karthik Chandrashekar Iyer, computer science.
Nader Naderpajouh, construction engineering and management.
Mariya I. Pylypiv, consumer sciences and retailing.
Dawn Walker, curriculum and instruction.
Christine M. Kassab, earth and atmospheric sciences. 
Yuriy Bots, economics.
Samuel A. Bertsch, electrical and computer engineering technology.
Michael S. Goldfarb, electrical and computer engineering.
Timothy Pritchett, electrical and computer engineering.
Masaki Kakoi, engineering education.
Aaron DeRosa, English.
Cirstine McMartin-Miller, English.
Nicholas K. Mohlmann, English.
Dallas Nicole Woodburn, English.
Serena Gross, entomology.
Madhuvanti Kale, food science.
Joshua Shields, forestry and natural resources.
Joshua D. Beck, health and kinesiology.
Gregory Weber, health sciences.
Jacqueline-Bethel Mougoue, history.
Christopher J. Currey, horticulture and landscape architecture.
Seul Ki Lee, hospitality and tourism management.
Mary Cockburn Bales, human development and family studies.
Lindsay Wegiel, industrial and physical pharmacy.
Sung-Hee Kim, industrial engineering.
Olga Lyanda-Geller, languages and cultures. 
Kelly Suero, languages and cultures
Jinsuh Lee, management.
Mitchell A. Wood, materials engineering.
Salvador Barone, mathematics.
Asaduzzaman Mohammad, mathematics.
Mariana Smit Vega Garcia, mathematics.
Xuejing Zhang, mathematics.
Janene Silvers, mechanical engineering.
Kyle Smith, mechanical engineering.
Craig A. Zehrung, mechanical engineering technology.
Frank Ankudey, medicinal chemistry and molecular pharmacology.
Meg Sorg, nursing.
Christine E. M. Keller, nutrition science.
Aliel Cunningham, oral English proficiency program. 
Neeraj N. Iyer, pharmacy practice. 
Vernon W. Cisney, philosophy. 
Jonathan M. Nistor, physics.
Cyrus Marazban Vandrevala, physics.
Cheryl M. O'Brien, political science.
Stefanie A. Plemmons, psychological sciences.
Megan Gilligan, sociology.
Allison Huber, speech, language, and hearing sciences.
Cheng Liu, statistics.
Matthew Schmidli, theater.
Emily Klosterman, veterinary clinical sciences

* Advanced Graduate Teacher Certificate

This year's recipients are:
Adrien Alexis Paul Chauvet, physics.
Rebecca Katherine Ivic, communication.

* Graduate Teacher Certificate

This year's recipients are:
Arthur Banton, African American studies.
Anna L. Fahey, agronomy.
Mirayda Torres-Avila, agronomy. 
Sarah A. Schrader, anthropology.
Diana Steele, anthropology.
Jennifer Gayle Studebaker, anthropology.
Jennifer Michelle Drennan, biochemistry.
Christie L. Eissler, biochemistry.
Xuanhao Sun, biomedical engineering.
Sara L. Yohe, chemical engineering.
Michael Ryan Mack, chemistry.
Lizhen Peng, chemistry.
Lindsey B. Anderson, communication.
Elizabeth Dorrance Hall, communication.
Richard Ford Hamm III, communication.
Christina Jones, communication.
Jennifer S. Owlett, communication. 
Dorothy M. Snyder, communication.
Elizabeth D. Wilhoit, communication.
Robert D. Winkworth IV, computer and information technology.
Jonathan E. Dunn, English.
Krystyna Hyrczyk, horticulture and landscape architecture.
Marie Christine Gerken, languages and cultures.
Natalia Fontes de Oliveira, languages and cultures.
Aída Valenzuela, languages and cultures.
Christina Weiler, languages and cultures.
Yujin Lee, nutrition science.
Brian Besong, philosophy.
Vernon W. Cisney, philosophy.
Cyrus Marazban Vandrevala, physics.
Pan Priscilla Lui, psychological sciences.
Megan K. MacPherson, speech, language, and hearing sciences.