Nominations sought for Community Spirit Award

April 2, 2012

Nominations are now being accepted for this year's Community Spirit Award, which seeks to recognize Purdue employees' outstanding service to the community, society and humanity.

Administrative, professional, clerical and service staff members are eligible for the award, says Bob Morman, vice chair of the Administrative and Professional Staff Advisory Committee (APSAC). APSAC and the Clerical and Service Staff Advisory Committee (CSSAC) created the award in 2011.

Nominations are open through May 31. Any organization or individual on or off campus may submit a nomination. Nominees should set a high standard for service, encourage a sustained commitment to civic participation and inspire others to make service a central part of their lives.

The number and quality of recommendations the award committee receives will determine the number of awards given this year. A primary nominee will be selected, but others also may be recognized as honorable mentions, Morman says.

Last year's Community Spirit Award winner was Melissa Swathwood, a research and faculty secretary for the School of Nursing. The first volunteer coordinator for the nursing school, Swathwood in 2010 was named president of the Tippecanoe Child Abuse Prevention Council's board. In addition to other service endeavors, she organizes events benefitting cancer research, Food Finders Food Bank, March of Dimes, Relay for Life and the American Heart Association.

"Purdue employees show their dedication to the community every day through their service efforts," Morman says. "APSAC and CSSAC want to recognize our fellow staff members who meet the highest standards of sacrifice and volunteerism."

This year's awards will be presented Oct. 9 during the annual APSAC-CSSAC joint meeting.

More details about the eligibility requirements, as well as the nomination form, are available at and