Convocation recognizes faculty for international and national honors, teaching excellence, years of service

May 9, 2011

Faculty were recognized for international and national awards, University and college honors, and distinguished and named professorships at the Faculty Awards Convocation on April 28. For the first time, the convocation also honored faculty for their years of service.

National and international awards
Nobel Prize in Chemistry: Ei-ichi Negishi, chemistry.

Institute of Medicine (elected into): Connie Weaver, foods and nutrition.
American Academy of Arts and Sciences (inducted in 2010): R. Graham Cooks, chemistry; Joseph Francisco, earth and atmospheric sciences; and Freydoon Shahidi, mathematics.

American Academy of Arts and Sciences (inducted in 2011): Leah H. Jamieson, engineering administration and electrical and computer engineering; H. Jay Melosh, earth and atmospheric sciences and physics; and Ei-ichi Negishi, chemistry.
American Association for the Advancement of Science Fellows: R. Graham Cooks, chemistry; Stanton Gelvin, biological sciences; Paul Hasegawa, horticulture and landscape architecture; Ahmed Hassanein, nuclear engineering; Scott Jackson, agronomy; Scott McLuckey, chemistry; Paul Shepson, chemistry; Arvind Varma, chemical engineering.
Jefferson Science Fellows (appointed in 2010 for a one-year term): Jay Gore, mechanical engineering, and Suresh Garimella, mechanical engineering.

Franklin Fellow: Frederi Viens, statistics.

Purdue Distinguished Women Scholars Award: Mary Wirth, chemistry.
American Council on Education Fellows (2011-12): Andrew Buckser, anthropology: Ananth Iyer, management.

American Council on Education Fellows (2010-11): Audeen Fentiman, nuclear engineering; Eckhard Groll, mechanical engineering.

University awards

2011 Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Awards in Memory of Charles B. Murphy: John Dunning, forestry and natural resources; Joel Ebarb, visual and performing arts; Cliff Fisher, management; Jeff Karpicke, psychological sciences; and John Lumkes Jr., agricultural and biological engineering.

Provost's Award for Outstanding Graduate Faculty Mentor: Steven Bell, mathematics; R. Graham Cooks, chemistry.

Committee on Institutional Cooperation-Academic Leadership Program Fellows: Karen Fingerman, human development and family studies; Laurie Jaeger, basic medical sciences; Ala Samarapungavan, educational studies; Alan Smith, health and kinesiology; Gabriela Weaver, chemistry.

Provost Fellows: Paul Sojka, mechanical engineering; Howard Zelaznik, health and kinesiology.

Fellowship for Study in a Second Discipline (2011-12): Brian Overholser, pharmacy practice; Thomas Siegmund, mechanical engineering; John Sundquist, foreign languages and literatures; Lynne Taylor, industrial and physical pharmacy; Philip Troped, health and kinesiology.

Fellowship for Study in a Second Discipline (2010-11): Janet Alsup, English education; Ximena Arriaga, psychological sciences; Elena Benedicto, English; James Forney, biochemistry; Ana Gómez-Bravo, foreign languages and literatures; Mariko Wei, foreign languages and literatures.
Continuing Education's Award for Excellence in Distance Learning (Credit) -- Deborah Fleetham. history.

Continuing Education's Award for Excellence in Distance Learning (Non-credit) -- Amy Mobley, foods and nutrition.

University Faculty Scholars: Indrajeet Chaubey, agriculture and biological engineering; Kyoung-Shin Choi, chemistry; Doug Jacobs, forestry and natural resources; Weiguo "Andy" Tao, biochemistry; Jan Vitek, computer science; Dongbin Xiu, mathematics; Emily Bouck, educational studies; Barrett Caldwell, industrial engineering; David Corti, chemical engineering; Y. Charlie Hu, electrical and computer engineering; Dimitrios Peroulis, electrical and computer engineering; Amit Varma, civil engineering; Bedrich Benes, computer graphics technology; Qingyou Han, mechanical engineering technology.

College awards

College of Agriculture -- Richard L. Kohls Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award, to John Dunning, forestry and natural resources.

College of Education -- Faculty Teaching Award, to Teresa Taber Doughty, educational studies.

College of Engineering -- A.A. Potter Best of Engineering Teaching Award, to Kathleen Howell, aeronautical and astronautical engineering.

College of Health and Human Sciences, School of Nursing -- LaNelle E. Geddes Excellence in Teaching Award, to Karen Foli, nursing.

College of Health and Human Sciences, School of Health Sciences -- Robert R. Landolt Award for Excellence in Teaching, to Ulrike Dydak, health sciences.

College of Liberal Arts -- Excellence in Teaching Award, to Randy Roberts, history.

College of Liberal Arts -- Kinley Trust Award, to Laura Zanotti, anthropology.

Libraries -- Annual Award for Excellence in Teaching, to Jeremy Garritano, Libraries.

Krannert School of Management -- Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award, to Kelly Blanchard, economics; Roy Dejoie, management.

Krannert School of Management -- Outstanding Undergraduate Teacher Award, to Cliff Fisher, management.

College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences -- Dr. Aziz Outstanding Teaching Award, to Sharon Erdman, pharmacy practice.

College of Science -- Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award, to Edward Bartlett, biological sciences.

College of Technology -- James G. Dwyer Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching, to Bryan Hubbard, building construction management technology.

College of Technology -- Outstanding Non-Tenured Faculty Member, to Jeffrey Richardson, electrical and computer engineering technology, and Henry Zhang, mechanical engineering technology.
College of Technology Outstanding Tenured Faculty Members, to Richard Fanjoy, aviation technology, and Qing Yon Han, mechanical engineering technology.

School of Veterinary Medicine -- Alumni Outstanding Teaching Award, to Rebecca Packer, veterinary clinical sciences and basic medical sciences.

Distinguished professors (appointed after April 2010)
Timothy Cason, Distinguished Professor of Economics.
Mark Cushman, Distinguished Professor of Medicinal  Chemistry.
John Duvall, Margaret Church Distinguished Professor.
Stephen Heister, Raisbeck Engineering Distinguished Professor of Engineering and Technology Integration.
Richard Mattes, Distinguished Professor of Foods and Nutrition.
Michael Murray, Distinguished Professor of Pharmacy Practice.
S.C. Max Yen, Steel Dynamics Distinguished Professor of Engineering.
Jian-Kang Zhu, Distinguished Professor of Plant Biology.

Named professors (appointed after April 2010)
M. Katherine Banks, Jack and Kay Hockema Professor of Civil Engineering.
James Braun, Herrick Professor of Engineering.
James Caruthers, Reilly Professor of Chemical Engineering.
Qingyan Chen, Reilly Professor of Mechanical Engineering.
Abhijit Deshmukh, James J. Solberg Head of Industrial Engineering.
Karthik Ramani, Donald W. Fedderson Professor of Mechanical Engineering.
Farshid Sadeghi, Cummins Professor of Mechanical Engineering.
Laura Sands, Katherine Birck Professor of Nursing.
John W. Sutherland, Fehsenfeld Family Head of Environmental and Ecological Engineering.
Venkat Venkatasubramanian, Reilly Professor of Chemical Engineering.
Xianfan Xu, James J. and Carol L. Shuttleworth Professor of Mechanical Engineering.

Faculty service recognition awards
A list of recipients is available as PDF file.