Two staff development programs recognize new graduates

June 10, 2010

Accomplished Clerical Excellence and the Council for Manager Development graduated a combined 40 University staff members this spring. 

Download image

On May 4, a celebration was held in Purdue Memorial Union's North Ballroom to recognize this year’s ACE class. Twenty-four clerical staff members from various areas across campus graduated from the two-year program.

The ACE program teaches interpersonal, organizational, supervisory and working relationship skills. It provides information about University resources, general office practices, verbal and written communication, business office procedures, continuous improvement along with many other skills.

CMD recognized 16 individuals from across campus on April 26 at a celebratory dinner in the Prusiceki Banquet Room in the Dick and Sandy Dauch Alumni Center. CMD is a two-year professional development experience for appointed administrative and professional staff members who report up through key executives of the University.

Download image

The first year of the program is devoted to meeting university executives, learning about the complexities of a large university and the leadership philosophies of Purdue’s senior staff.  After members spend a third semester discussing University issues with selected vice presidents and senior staff, chosen issues are further researched, studied, and developed into a project presentation with recommendations.

Both ACE and CMD are sponsored by the executive vice president for business and finance, treasurer at Purdue.

Photo captions:

ACE graduates. First row, left to right: Susan Davis (ACE coordinator), Diane Byrd, Carol Brock, Sandi Olson, Michelle Liratni, Susan Corwin, Judy Rife. Second row: Sophia McKinsey, Ann Cripe, Michelle Sarault, Cheri Thomas, Angie Nobile. Third row: Barbara Gick, Rachel Moore, Gena Cox, Melanie Moehring, Sherry Alexander. Fourth row: Christy Schock, Rhonda Hostetter, Marsha Pritchard, Carol Glotzbach, Rula Audi, Misty Farrar. Not pictured: Bobbie Jones. Amy Ingram was honored posthumously.

CMD graduates. Back row, left to right: Kathy Rainwater, Jeff Johnson, Julie Talz, Phil Conrad, Michael Turner, Jon Wright, Robin Shanks, Jason Boley, Doug Wagner. Front row: Monica Bloom, Cheryl Purefoy, Lucy Fluellen, Jon Laswell,  Sarah Smith, Al Diaz (executive vice president for business and finance, treasurer and CMD sponsor). Not pictured: Rustin Meister, Andrae Sailes.