Christine Ladisch, dean of the College of Health

"> One Brick Higher Award presented to leaders of accreditation process

One Brick Higher Award presented to leaders of accreditation process

November 30, 2010

Purdue President France A. Córdova, center, with One Brick Higher Award recipients Christine Ladisch and Mark Pagano. (Purdue University photo/Mark Simons)

Download image

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. – The leaders of the 30-month process that resulted in Purdue's continued accreditation by the Higher Learning Commission were honored Tuesday (Nov. 30) with the university's One Brick Higher Award.

Christine Ladisch, dean of the College of Health and Human Sciences, and Mark Pagano, dean of Continuing Education and Conferences, received the award at the President's Forum in the Purdue Memorial Union North Ballroom.

The One Brick Higher Award is a special honor at Purdue. It is presented to faculty, staff and students who go beyond the requirements of their role to improve the lives of those around them, increase the effectiveness of the workplace and/or prevent or solve problems. It is given to faculty, staff and students who undertake their work with extra vitality, extra care, extra creativity and extraordinary effort.

Ladisch and Pagano were chair and co-chair of the Accreditation Steering Committee and guided the 30-month process of thorough internal review and compilation of Purdue's accreditation self-study report. Purdue received formal notification in late October of its continued accreditation.

"Chris and Mark, you exhibited strong leadership in bringing together teams of faculty, staff and students from across all areas of Purdue in developing the comprehensive self-study report for accreditation," President France A. Córdova said in presenting the awards. "Your outstanding work was critical in obtaining our continued accreditation, and for that we are extremely grateful. I think I speak for the entire Purdue family when I say that you have taken this university 'One Brick Higher.'"

The One Brick Higher Award, being reinstated by Córdova, is steeped in Purdue history. It first was presented in 2002 and takes its name from events in 1894-95. In 1894 the newly built Heavilon Hall - which was then the home of Purdue engineering - was dedicated. The building featured a tower symbolizing academic excellence. Four days after the dedication, a fire destroyed this new campus landmark. Purdue President James A. Smart rallied spirits on campus by declaring that Heavilon Hall and its tower would be rebuilt "one brick higher."

And it was rebuilt. The new building was completed the following year and featured a tower with a clock and four bells that served as a campus landmark for 60 years.

In the 1950s Heavilon Hall was torn down and the present structure was built. The bells were placed in storage until 1995 when the Purdue Bell Tower was completed. The bells hanging in the tower today are from the hall that was built "one brick higher."

Faculty, staff and students are invited to submit nominations for future winners of the award. Nominees should be from the West Lafayette campus. A website ( provides more information about the award and a nomination form.

Media contact: Julie Rosa, 765-494-2036,

Source: France A. Córdova,