Appointments, honors and activities

April 23, 2010

• Campus activities:

— The MD Steer Audiology and Speech Language clinics will provide free speech, language and hearing screenings to adults from the community from 9 a.m. to noon on Monday (April 26). The screenings will be held in the basement of Heavilon Hall, and individuals should call 765-494-3789 to make an appointment for a screening. The event is to raise public awareness of hearing loss as well as speech, language and hearing problems. More information about the clinics, is available at

• Faculty and staff honors:

— Jennifer Foray, an assistant professor of history, has been awarded the Kluge Fellowship for research at the Library of Congress next year. Foray will be conducting research for her book manuscript, titled "Imperial Aftershocks: The Legacies of Decolonization in the Netherlands." The residential fellowship is September to July.   

• Student honors:

- Purdue Libraries has awarded scholarships and awards totaling $7,000 to four students who work in campus libraries. Cody Chambers, a senior from Coatesville, Ind., majoring in computer graphics technology, received the $2,500 Albert Viton Scholarship. Chambers has worked at Purdue University Press for five semesters. Joe Lee, a junior from West Lafayette majoring in political science, earned the Dorothy Newby McCaw Scholarship of $2,500. Lee has worked the past four semesters, including summers in the Life Science Library. Joshua Hignight and Michael West received Pulse Awards for $1,000 each. Hignight is a senior from Lee's Summit, Mo., majoring in English literature. He has worked for the John W. Hicks Undergraduate since his freshman year and for the Humanities, Social Science and Education libraries since last fall. West, a fourth-year student in the Doctor of Pharmacy program from Greenfield, Ind., has worked in the Pharmacy, Nursing and Health Sciences Library for the past five semesters. The students were recognized during an April 19 luncheon.

- The Department of Communication's student-produced TV newsmagazine "Fast Track" was selected as an Official Honoree for the Student Category in the 14th annual Webby Awards. The honor is in recognition of its student news website,  "Fast Track" covers Purdue and local news each semester. Clinical assistant professor Patricia Saul Rochon is the "Fast Track" producer.

- Heather White, a graduate student teacher and researcher in the Department of Animal Sciences, is the 2010 recipient of the North American Colleges and Teachers of Agriculture (NACTA) Graduate Student Teaching Award. She will receive the award during NACTA's annual conference at Pennsylvania State University in June. White has taught introductory and advanced courses on animal sciences, animal nutrition and dairy cattle management. White is believed to be the first Purdue graduate student to receive the NACTA award.

- GlucaGo, a team from Purdue and Indiana universities, took third place and $32,150 in prize money in the Rice Business Plan Competition, held at Rice University in Houston from April 15-17. The team won for its device to revolutionize the way that injectable drugs are stored and administered. Team members are Rush Bartlett, a Purdue doctoral student in biomedical engineering who also is pursuing an MBA at Indiana; Peter Greco, a Purdue MBA student; and Arthur Chlebowski, a Purdue doctoral student in biomedical engineering.

- Two teams from Krannert School of Management recently won case competitions, in which teams are given a business case study to analyze. Under time constraints, a team develops a solution to solve a client’s need. It presents to a panel made up of industry and/or academic experts, and solutions are judged for being creative, doable and applicable in the real world.

     First-year MBA students Matthew Black, Saketh Chinni, D.J. Crandall and Daniel Schwartz won the Big Ten Case Competition at Ohio State University. It is the first time Purdue has won. Chinni was named best overall presenter. Crandall won for best Q&A.

     Juan Mantilla, Daniel Schwartz and Nattanich Thongkraisaen won first place at the United Technologies Case Competition at the University of North Carolina. Mantilla and Schwartz are first-year MBA students.  Thongkraisaen is a second-year MBA student. The team won an all-expenses-paid trip to China this summer.

- Five students from the College of Education were honored with Outstanding Future Educator awards by the Indiana Association of Colleges for Teacher Education on April 16. Purdue students honored were Brittany Booth, Rosanna Marangelli, Jenna Ruch, John Sterling and Sarah Van Sickle. University supervisors nominate student teachers for consideration for the award. Honorees are chosen based on the student teaching experience, scholastic achievement and community involvement.