Alumni Acknowledgements

The Minority Engineering Program could not achieve its mission to enrich the profession of engineering through the full participation of men and women from African American, Hispanic/Latino American, Native American/Hawaiian/Pacific Islander descent without the generosity of our donors. Thanks for your one-time or recurring monthly gift to sustain our programs throughout the year. To make a contribution, please visit here or contact Hilary Butler at 765.494.6383 or

Alumni Testimonials

Alston Testimonials

Cassandra Alston, BSME, Current Employer: Johnson Controls

Cassandra Alston is a native of New Jersey and currently resides in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, where she is employed as the Executive Director, Global Workforce Diversity, Johnson Controls Incorporated. Alston received her bachelor's of science in mechanical engineering from Purdue in 1988, where she was also captain of the women's basketball team. In her role as the executive director for global workforce diversity, she develops and manages diversity initiatives across all business units for the Johnson Controls. Her work is focused on initiatives in diversity recruiting, retention, and engagement as well as the development of sustainable infrastructure and processes. Previous to this role, Alston was vice president of operations for the Johnsons Controls Facility Management business unit where she managed the technical and operational team supporting all facility management accounts in the United States and Latin America. These support services included technical expertise, transition management, supply chain, safety, and call center operations. Prior to joining Johnsons controls, Alston acquired a strong operations foundation in her roles as a consultant with Booz Allen and Hamilton in Chicago, senior operations director at Enron Energy Services, and as a plant engineer/analyst for Exxon Mobil in Houston. She also holds an MBA from Northwestern University, where she was an Austin Scholar. Alston was featured in Ebony Magazine's 50th Anniversary issue article "50 Leader's of Tomorrow". She also serves on the board of STEM Forward in Milwaukee and is a guest lecturer at Marquette University.

Alumni & Friends

**Total Giving FY Year 2015, August 2014-July 2015**

Total Gift $10,000-$99,000

Don and Liz Thompson

Total Gift $5,000-$9,999

Sandy Alston

Akasha N. Davis

Total Gift $1,000-$4,999

Gary and Lynn Cummins

Fidel Galano

Percy and Shireen Gilbert

Virginia Booth Womack and Richard Womack

Mamoon A. Hamid

Tony and Angela Harris

Lara and Wayne Kauchak

Bob and Benita Kiamco

Jamie Lewis

Aidoo Osei

Bill and Marian Roach

Sandy Rogers

Samantha A. Sanders

Janet Y. Spears

Michelle R. Spencer-Gay

Sonia A. Teran

Total Gift $100-$999

Betty Anderson

Ernesto Barajas

Rayman and Merneatha Bazilio

Amos H. Belcher

Kyle Burson and Anya Garcia-Burson

Vincent C. Bush

Marc and Frances Clarke

Harish Dadoo

Bryan Dennis and Yolanda Hockaday-Dennis

Darryl A. Dickerson

Daryl E. Dunbar

Yonatan A. Feleke

Ukari O. Figgs

Lynette A. Foster-Nettles

Nereyda Gamboa

Vicente H. Garcia

Artie L. Harris

Cicely M. Hart

Joe Haydel

Reggie D. Hayes

Paul M. Holmes

Todd A. Hood

Rochelle L. Jackson

Rand K. Jean

Chuck and Marcia Johnson

Darren Jones

Liz and Dave Klimes

Sean R. Kovich

Travis B. Langster

Lindsay Martin and Trineice Robinson-Martin

Anna-Maria McGowan

Ekow and Marie Mensah

Dawn M. Monfries

Mary and Eric Nauman

Annie G. Newell

Efosa M. Ogiesoba

Roy T. Okamoto

Claude M. Oliver

Carolyn Percifield

Tory Pitts

Norha Plumey and Ismael Torres

Seqwana and Travis Pryor

Tim and Audrey Reust

Francis D. Rodriguez

Justin S. Sampson

James C. Skridulis

Waleska Soto and Juan Gonzalez

Monique C. Vann

Maurice D. Walker

Nikia M. Williams

Total Gift Up to $99

Kevin T. Alcorn

Tony Asoera

Jeanne E. Banks

Danny and Sandra Brown

Hilary A. Butler

Jeanne L. Butler

Sandra Castillo

Joe Cieply

Cynthia J. Cobb

Emmanuel G. Collins

Michelle R. Crain

Osra and Tracy DeLong

Angela F. Dodd

Robbin R. Edmond

Penny and Lew Fisher

Phil Foster

Pam Johnson 

Brenda K. Johnson

Renee Kelly

Joel M. Lugo

Brian A. McNair-Williams

Stan Merritt

Dominic and Carla Montoya

Francisco A. Pagan-Moreno

Bryce E. Randle

Sabrina M. Reed

Jeff and Nikki Sriver

Tonya R. Strong-Charles

Paul C. Thomas

William and Debra Vance

John and Marcia Vian

Nosakhere Walcott

Andrew A. Weintraut

Justin and Keri Wheeler

Leslie Williams

This page was last updated 5/16/16

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-3974

2017 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by the Minority Engineering Program

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact the Minority Engineering Program at: