Graduate Research Publication Award

Award Description:

This award is to recognize excellence in graduate student research and is awarded to two students per year. Submitted papers must appear in a refereed journal, either published in the preceding calendar year or currently in press. A paper may only be submitted for award consideration one time.

1st Prize: $500, name engraved on plaque displayed in the department, and a framed certificate.

2nd Prize: $250, name engraved on plaque displayed in the department, and a framed certificate.

Eligibility Criteria:

  • Current graduate student in good standing in the department.
  • Student must be sole or first author of the paper.
  • If other graduate students in the department co-author the paper, each will be recognized with the award.
  • Faculty can be co-author(s) on the paper, but cannot be first author.

Review Process:

Papers will be evaluated by members of the Graduate Committee, who represent all areas of the department. Committee members will not participate in the evaluation of any papers submitted by their own students. Papers will be judged on magnitude of contribution to the psychological sciences and on expository style. Applications for the award should include:

  • The paper (if in-press, also include copies of the acceptance letter)
  • A brief statement (maximum 1 page) from the student's major professor in support of the award

Application Deadline:

Applications are submitted each year in January. An announcement will be advertised to all graduate students providing a specific due date for submissions.

Award Winner Place Year
Ka Ng 1st Place 2019
Kaylin Hill 2nd Place 2019
Nicole Schartz 1st Place 2018
Belel Ait Oumeziane 2nd Place 2018
Nicole Schartz 1st Place 2017
Scott Parrigon 2nd Place 2017
Takakuni Suzuki 1st Place 2016
Keisha Novak 2nd Place 2016
Pan Priscilla Lui 1st Place 2015
Megan McCarty 2nd Place 2015
Janell Blunt 1st Place 2014
Jing Chen 2nd Place 2014
Joseph Eric Taylor 1st Place 2013
Matthew Kassner 2nd Place 2013
Philip Grimaldi 1st Place 2012
David Vachon 2nd Place 2012
Jessica Biddinger 1st Place 2011
Eric Wesselmann 2nd Place 2011
Dongbin (Tobin) Cho 1st Place 2010
Eric D. Wesselmann 2nd Place 2010
Angela B. Begle 1st Place 2009
Rustin D. Meyer 2nd Place 2009
Zhansheng Chen 1st Place 2008
Scott E. Kanoski 2nd Place 2008
Marco A.B. Vasconcelos 2nd Place 2008
Motonori Yamaguchi 1st Place 2007
Jason K. Clark 2nd Place 2007
Justin J. Lehmiller 1st Place 2006
Tamra J. Bitreta 2nd Place 2006
Andrea L. Tracy 1st Place 2005
Jennifer R. Spoor 2nd Place 2005

Psychological Sciences, 703 Third Street, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-6061 FAX: (765) 496-1264

2016 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Psychological Sciences

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact Psychological Sciences at