Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee

The Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) Committee shall consist of the Associate Dean for DEI, who will serve as chair, and the Directors of DEI in each academic unit. Diversity references representation, equity means that everyone has an equal chance of success, and inclusion involves feeling welcomed and a sense of belonging. This committee shall focus on matters related to increasing diversity among faculty, students and staff, and to fostering equity, inclusion and success. The committee shall examine existing policies, programs, procedures and initiatives, informed by relevant data where possible, to identify areas for improvements. The committee will discuss and implement strategies and initiatives for creating and sustaining positive change. Examples include a focus on DEI in relation to research, outreach, engagement, recruitment, retention, scholarships, fellowships, grants, mentoring, curriculum, teaching, and learning opportunities for raising critical consciousness and reducing bias. HHS DEI committee members will serve as DEI liaisons to other major committees including the Faculty Affairs Committee, the Graduate Educational Policy and Curriculum Committee, the Honors Programs Coordinating Committee, the International Programs Committee, the Undergraduate Educational Policy and Curriculum Committee, and the Research Advisory Council.

2021-2022 Members

Unit Director  Email 

Human Development and Family Studies

Shelley MacDermid- Wadsworth 


Health and Kinesiology

Brandon Yates


Health Sciences

Uzay Emir


Hospitality and Tourism Management

Sandra Sydnor



Azza Ahmed


Nutrition Science

Laura Murray-Kolb lmurrayk@purdue.edu

Psychological Sciences

Kip Williams 


Public Health 

Yumary Ruiz


Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences

Chenell Loudermill


HHS Administration

Margo Monteith, Chair 

Carmen Morrow, Secretary

Tammy Conard-Salvo, member