The Graduate School Advance to a Higher Degree

Provost’s Award for Outstanding Graduate Mentor

The Graduate School solicits nominations each Spring semester from across Purdue University’s West Lafayette campus for the Provost’s Award for Outstanding Graduate Mentor. The Graduate School will seek nominations through college assistant/associate deans for graduate education.  Nominees can be from any college or school but must be a current graduate faculty member on the West Lafayette campus.

Nominees must demonstrate sustained and significant contributions to graduate education at Purdue through activities such as:

  • Well-structured relationships with students that lead to successful completion of master’s and doctoral degrees, including committee service, mentoring, funding, scholarly support and student advocacy
  • Innovative graduate teaching
  • Significant administration of graduate programs

Awardees will be determined from college and school nominees by a committee composed of the graduate faculty (selected by the Graduate School) and graduate students (selected by the president of the Purdue Graduate Student Government).

Up to two awards of $2,500 each will be awarded. Awards will be presented at a banquet to honor recipients.

Provost Award Winners 2018

The 2017-2018 recipients of the Provost's Award for Outstanding Graduate Mentor, Professor Richard K. Thomas and Professor Elizatheth J. Taparowsky, flanked by Senior Vice Provost Frank J. Dooley and Dean Linda Mason

Contact Us

Thomas W. Atkinson, PhD
Associate Dean of Graduate School

Ernest C. Young Hall, Room 170 | 155  S. Grant Street, West Lafayette, IN 47907-2114 | 765-494-2600

© 2017 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by The Purdue University Graduate School

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact The Purdue University Graduate School.