The Graduate School Advance to a Higher Degree

Recipients and Nominees

The Graduate School encourages its students and faculty to nominate themselves or other members of their department for annual performance awards each year. A summary of recent award recipients and nominees follows.

Purdue Provost’s Award for Outstanding Graduate Mentor

2018 Recipients

  • Elizabeth J. Taparowsky, Department of Biological Sciences
  • Richard K. Thomas, Pattie & Rusty Rueff School of Visual and Performing Arts

2016 Recipients

  • Kenneth Ferraro, Department of Sociology
  • Carol Beth Post, Department of Medicinal Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology

2015 Recipient

  • Dorothy Teegarden, Department of Nutrition Science

2014 Recipient

  • Patrice Buzzanell, Brian Lamb School of Communication

2013 Recipients

  • Jan Allenbach, School of Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Jonathan Harbor, Department of Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences

2012 Recipients

  • Suresh Garimella, School of Mechanical Engineering
  • Robert Geahlen, Department of Medicinal Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology

2011 Recipients

  • Steven Bell, Department of Mathematics
  • Graham Cooks, Department of Chemistry

2010 Recipients

  • Rebecca Doerge, Department of Statistics
  • Joseph Thomas III, Department of Pharmacy Practice

2009 Recipients

  • Hilkka Kenttamaa, Department of Chemistry
  • Henry Weiner, Department of Biochemistry

2008 Recipients

  • Brant Burleson, Brian Lamb School of Communication
  • Andrew Weiner, School of Electrical and Computer Engineering

2007 Recipients

  • Stephen Green, School of Management
  • Richard Mattes, Department of Nutrition Science

2006 Recipients

  • Anil Bajaj, School of Mechanical Engineering
  • David Nichols, Department of Medicinal Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology

Midwestern Association of Graduate Schools (MAGS) Awards

2018 nominees

  • Chao Cai, Department of Botany and Plant Pathology
  • Lauren Haslem, Department of History

MAGS Excellence in Teaching Awards

2018 nominees

  • Liesl Krause, Master’s Nominee, School of Biomedical Engineering
  • Mayu Miyamoto, Doctoral Nominee, School of Languages and Cultures

Council of Graduate Schools (CGS) Awards

CGS/ProQuest Distinguished Dissertation Awards

Schmidt Science Fellows Award

2017 nominees

  • Shourya Jain, School of Aeronautics and Astronautics
  • Jing Pan, School of Mechanical Engineering
  • Scott A. Pattenaude, Department of Chemistry
  • Xinwu Qian, School of Civil Engineering
  • Abhronil Sengupta, School of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings

2018 nominees

  • Frederick Damen, School of Biomedical Engineering
  • Shivam Patel, Department of Health and Kinesiology

Contact Us

Thomas W. Atkinson, PhD
Associate Dean of Graduate School

Ernest C. Young Hall, Room 170 | 155  S. Grant Street, West Lafayette, IN 47907-2114 | 765-494-2600

© 2017 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by The Purdue University Graduate School

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact The Purdue University Graduate School.