Big Ten Academic Alliance (BTAA)

Big Ten Academic Alliance AGEP-T Professorial Advancement Initiative (PAI)

The underrepresentation of African Americans, Hispanic Americans, Pacific Islanders, and Native Americans in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) graduate programs is well known and remains an issue of national concern. Even more acute is the degree of underrepresentation of these racial and ethnic groups in STEM faculty positions in American institutions of higher learning, which impacts the ability of universities to attract and retain underrepresented minority students. The Big Ten Academic Alliance - a consortium that includes Purdue and 13 other Big Ten universities plus the University of Chicago-was awarded a National Science Foundation (NSF) AGEP-Transformation (AGEP-T) grant titled “Professorial Advancement Initiative (PAI) to address this problem. The BTAA, partnered with AGEP will utilize the PAI to increase the number of underrepresented minority (URM) Postdocs entering the professoriate. The AGEP-T PAI will work to double the number of URM faculty members hired annually. This initiative includes 14 Big Ten universities who seek to increase URM faculty by 50% in the first year.

The programmatic goal of the AGEP-T PAI is to develop a high-quality mentoring network that will improve the transition of postdoctoral scholars into the professoriate in the STEM disciplines. Two objectives support this goal:

  • Create a pool of URM post-doctoral scholars prepared and trained to enter the academy as tenure track faculty.
  • Educate faculty and faculty search committees about unconscious bias and diversity hiring.


Gateway to Faculty Positions - Search faculty openings within the Big Ten Alliance Institutions

Big Ten Academic Alliance NSF Logo

This material is based upon work supported by the National Science Foundation under AGEP-Transformation #1309028. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.

Ernest C. Young Hall, Room 170 | 155  S. Grant Street, West Lafayette, IN 47907-2114 | 765-494-2600

© 2017 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by The Purdue University Graduate School

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact The Purdue University Graduate School.