To:           Executive Vice Presidents, Chancellors, Vice Presidents, Vice Chancellors, Vice Provosts, Deans, Directors and Heads of Schools, Divisions and Offices

Fr:            David A. Reingold, Justin S. Morrill Dean of the College of Liberal Arts

Re:           Appointment of head for Department of English

Date:        March 30, 2015

I’m pleased to announce the appointment of Krista Ratcliffe, professor of English at Marquette University, as the new head of the Department of English within the College of Liberal Arts. 

Krista will begin on August 1, 2015, and succeeds Nancy Peterson, who is returning to the faculty after serving first as interim head beginning in 2009 and then an additional 5 years as department head. Nancy’s service has been outstanding, and the department has benefitted greatly from her tireless service.

Krista brings an extraordinary set of skills with her to the Department of English. Her administrative experience, her stellar research record, and her commitment to teaching make her an excellent choice to lead the department.

She received her bachelor's degree in English from Ball State University in 1981, her M.A, from Ball State in 1982, and her Ph.D. from The Ohio State University in 1988. She first joined the faculty at the University of Missouri-Columbia in 1988 before moving to Marquette University where she was promoted to professor in 2007.

Krista’s research in rhetoric and composition studies has focused on intersections of rhetoric, gender, feminism, and race, and her book Rhetorical Listening has won three national awards in her discipline. She served as president of the Rhetoric Society of America (2012-13), president of the Coalition of Women Scholars in the History of Rhetoric and Composition (2000-02), and as a committee member in other professional organizations, including the Conference on College Composition and Communication and the Modern Language Association.

I also want to express gratitude to the members of the search committee:  Madeleine Henry (chair), Janet Alsup, Jennifer Bay, Marlo David, April Ginther, Shaun Hughes, Don Platt, Arkady Plotnitsky and graduate student Leah Pennywark.

Please join me in thanking the search committee and welcoming Dr. Krista Ratcliffe to Purdue University.