Event Details

Regional Clean Energy Innovation Forum at Purdue University

June 8 @ 7:00 PM - - June 10 @ 12:30 PM - Ross-Ade Stadium. Buchanan Room (5th Floor) 850 Steven Beering Dr, West Lafayette, IN 47907

The Innovation Forum will begin on June 8, 2016 with a welcoming reception from 7 to 9 p.m. ET at the Birck Nanotechnology Center in Discovery Park, 1201 W State St., on the Purdue University campus in West Lafayette, Indiana 47907.

The Innovation Forum panels, lunch, poster session, reception and dinner will be held at the Ross-Ade Stadium Buchanan Room, 850 Steven Beering Drive on Purdue’s campus in West Lafayette.

Wednesday, June 8

7:00 p.m.


Birck Nanotechnology Center in Discovery Park

1201 W. State St., West Lafayette, IN 47907

Thursday, June 9

7:45-8:45 a.m.

Continental breakfast and registration

Ross-Ade Stadium Buchanan Room (5th Floor)

850 Steven Beering Dr., West Lafayette, IN 47907

8:45-9:30 a.m.


  • Tómas Díaz de la Rubia, Chief Scientist and Executive Director, Discovery Park, Purdue University
  • Mitchell E. Daniels, President, Purdue University
  • Franklin (Lynn) Orr, Under Secretary for Science and Energy, Department of Energy
  • Eric Holcomb, Lieutenant Governor of Indiana
  • Jim Merritt, State Senator, Indiana; Chairman of the Senate Utilities Committee

9:30-10:45 a.m.

Panel #1: Energy Storage


  • George Crabtree, Director, Joint Center for Energy Storage, Argonne National Laboratory


  • David Roberts, President, Battery Innovation Center
  • Mark Johnson, Director, Advanced Manufacturing Office, Office of Energy, Efficiency and Renewable Energy, Department of Energy
  • Joaquín Rodríguez-López, Assistant Professor of Chemistry, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Thomas Golab, Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, Navitas Systems

10:45-11:00 a.m.


11:00-12:15 p.m.

Panel #2: Biomass/Synthetic Biology


  • Michael Ladisch, Director, Laboratory of Renewable Resources Engineering; Distinguished Professor of Agriculture and Biological Engineering, Purdue University


  • Kent Peters, Program Manager for the Bioenergy Research Centers, Biological and Environmental Research, Office of Science, Department of Energy
  • Jennifer Dunn, Biofuel Life Cycle Analysis Team Lead and Environmental Analyst, Energy Systems, Argonne National Laboratory
  • Bruce Dale, University Distinguished Professor of AgBio Research, Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science, Michigan State University
  • Peter Keeling, Innovation Director, NSF Engineering Research Center for Biorenewable Chemicals, Iowa State University
  • Nancy Heimann, President and CEO, Enginuity Worldwide

12:30-1:30 p.m.


1:45-3:00 p.m.

Panel #3: Critical Materials/Advanced Manufacturing


  • Thomas Lograsso, Director, Division of Materials Science and Engineering, Ames Laboratory


  • Carol Handwerker, Reinhardt Schuhmann Jr. Professor of Materials Engineering and Environmental and Ecological Engineering, Purdue University
  • Chenn Zhou, Director, Steel Manufacturing Simulation and Visualization Consortium; Professor and Director, Center for Innovation through Visualization and Simulation, Purdue University Calumet
  • John Barnes, Vice President, Advanced Manufacturing & Strategy, Alcoa Titanium & Engineered Products

3:00-3:15 p.m.


3:15-4:30 p.m.

Panel #4: Wind Energy/Grid Integration


  • John Bear, President and Chief Executive Officer, MISO Energy


  • Doug Esamann, Executive Vice President and President of Duke Energy’s Midwest and Florida Regions, Duke Energy
  • Juan Torres, Manager, Energy Systems Analysis, Sandia National Laboratory
  • Lian Shen, Benjamin Mayhugh Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering; Associate Director for Research, St. Anthony Falls Laboratory, University of Minnesota
  • John McDonald, SmartGrid Business Development Leader, North America; Global SmartGrid Strategy Group, GE Grid Solutions

6:00 p.m.

Reception and poster session

7:00 p.m.


Remarks by Jay Gore, Vincent P Reilly Professor in Mechanical Engineering, Purdue University

Friday, June 10

7:45-8:30 a.m.

Breakfast and registration

Discovery Learning Research Center in Discovery Park

298 Nimitz Dr., West Lafayette

8:30-9:45 a.m.

Panel #5: Public-Private Partnerships


  • Mark Johnson, Director, Advanced Manufacturing Office, Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy, Department of Energy


  • Alfred Sattelberger, Deputy Laboratory Director for Programs, Argonne National Laboratory
  • Marcey Hoover, Chief Operating Officer for the Energy and Climate Program, Sandia National Laboratory
  • Duane Johnson, Chief Research Officer, AMES Laboratory
  • Byron Pipes, John Leighton Bray Distinguished Professor of Engineering, Purdue University
  • Paul Mitchell, President and CEO, Energy Systems Network
  • Justin Hage, Director for Strategic Planning and Performance Management, Indiana Economic Development Corporation (IEDC)

9:45-10:45 a.m.

Breakout sessions: Clean Energy Innovation Midwest Assets

Facilitator: Ed Morrison, Director, Agile Strategy Lab, Purdue University

10:45-11:30 a.m.


11:30-11:45 a.m.

Closing remarks

Tómas Díaz de la Rubia, Chief Scientist and Executive Director, Discovery Park, Purdue University

11:45 a.m.

Box lunches available


Contact Details


More Information

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2017 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Discovery Park

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact Discovery Park at dpweb@purdue.edu.