purdue university data digest west lafayette 2001-02
fast facts. students. instruction and student life. faculty and staff. finance.
spacer. facilities. research. peer university comparisons. additional facts and figures. definitions. spacer.
spacer. data digest home. site map. site search. spacer. spacer.
campus image with the discover purdue logo spacer
Fast Facts
Board of Trustees

Return to Fast Facts links
Download a PDF of this page (Abobe Acrobat Reader Required).

Purdue University's Board of Trustees consists of 10 members appointed by the governor of Indiana. Three of these members — one of whom must be a graduate of the School of Agriculture — are nominated by the Purdue Alumni Association. The 1975 General Assembly provided for the 10th member, a student. The Board selects the president of the University, decides major policy lines, approves the financial program and budget, approves the president's nominations for major appointments, and approves all construction and major contracts.

Current Board Members* Term Expires
**Michael J. Birck, Hinsdale, Illinois June 30, 2003
Anna Carol Day, Noblesville June 30, 2003
Barbara Edmondson, Clayton June 30, 2003
John A. Edwardson, Wilmette, Illinois June 30, 2002
**Lewis W. Essex, Columbus June 30, 2002
**John D. Hardin Jr., Danville June 30, 2004
J. Timothy McGinley, Indianapolis, chairman June 30, 2004
D. William Moreau Jr., Indianapolis
June 30, 2003
Mamon M. Powers Jr., Gary June 30, 2002
W. Wayne Townsend, Hartford City, vice chairman June 30, 2004
*As of July 1, 2001  
** Selected by Purdue Alumni Association  

Source: Office of Institutional Research

purdue homepage. purdue search purdue maps purdue directories

Copyright © 2002, Purdue University, all rights reserved. An equal access/equal opportunity university.