Purdue University
Data Digest
Purdue Links
Fast Facts Students Instruction and Student Life Faculty and Staff Finance Facilities Research
Peer University Comparisons Addtional Facts and Figures Regional Campuses System-wide Definitions
Data Digest Home Site Map Site Search
Fast Facts
Board of Trustees

Return to Fast Facts links
Download a PDF of this page (Adobe Acrobat Reader Required).

Purdue University's Board of Trustees consists of ten members appointed by the governor of Indiana. Three of these members - one of whom must be a graduate of the College of Agriculture - are nominated by the Purdue Alumni Association.  The 1975 General Assembly provided for the tenth member, a student. The Board selects the president of the University, decides major policy lines, approves the financial program and budget, approves the president's nominations for major appointments, and approves all construction and major contracts.

Current Board Members1 Term Expires

Michael J. Birck, Hinsdale, Illinois2

June 30, 2009

JoAnn Brouillette, Fowler June 30, 2009
Susan B. Butler, Tucson, Arizona June 30, 2009
John D. Hardin Jr., Danville2, vice chairman June 30, 2010
Keith Krach, Los Gatos, California June 30, 2010
J. Timothy McGinley, Indianapolis, chairman June 30, 2010
William S. Oesterle, Indianapolis June 30, 2008
Mamon M. Powers Jr., Gary June 30, 2008
Thomas E. Spurgeon, Peoria, Illinois2 June 30, 2008
Jill Steiner, Berne, Indiana June 30, 2009
1As of July 1, 2007  
2Selected by Purdue Alumni Association  

Source: Office of Institutional Research

Purdue Links - Apply Purdue Links - Request Info Purdue Links - Visit Purdue Links - Giving