Purdue University
Data Digest
Purdue Links
Fast Facts Students Instruction and Student Life Faculty and Staff Finance Facilities Research
Peer University Comparisons Addtional Facts and Figures Regional Campuses System-wide Definitions
Data Digest Home Site Map Site Search
Fast Facts
Board of Trustees

Return to Fast Facts links
Download a PDF of this page (Adobe Acrobat Reader Required).

Purdue University's Board of Trustees consists of ten members appointed by the governor of Indiana. Three of these members — one of whom must be a graduate of the School of Agriculture — are nominated by the Purdue Alumni Association. The 1975 General Assembly provided for the tenth member, a student. The Board selects the president of the University, decides major policy lines, approves the financial program and budget, approves the president's nominations for major appointments, and approves all construction and major contracts.

Current Board Members* Term Expires
Michael J. Birck, Hinsdale, Illinois** June 30, 2006
Rachel N. Cumberbatch, Lafayette June 30, 2007
Barbara Edmondson, Clayton June 30, 2006
John D. Hardin Jr., Danville**, vice chairman June 30, 2007
J. Timothy McGinley, Indianapolis, chairman June 30, 2007
William S. Oesterle, Indianapolis June 30, 2008
Robert E. Peterson, Rochester June 30, 2006
Mamon M. Powers Jr., Gary
June 30, 2008
Thomas E. Spurgeon, Peoria, Illinois** June 30, 2008
Mark Townsend, Hartford City June 30, 2007
*As of July 1, 2005  
**Selected by Purdue Alumni Association  

Source: Office of Institutional Research

Purdue Links - Apply Purdue Links - Request Info Purdue Links - Visit Purdue Links - Giving