IT Governance

Every healthy organization must continually review its goals and operational philosophies for achieving success. As information technology (IT) is a strategic component in reaching Purdue's institutional goals, this enterprise function must find its balance in leadership, service, partnerships, and fiscal responsibility. A strategically balanced campus-wide information technology plan will both drive and support innovative and cutting-edge initiatives that position faculty, staff, students, and other University constituents to achieve the goals of today and tomorrow.

Purdue University's Campus Information Technology Plan (CITP), is a three-year plan that was implemented May 1, 2010 under the leadership of Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer, Gerry McCartney. The CITP was created in response to Purdue's Sustaining New Synergies Information Technology review.

Purdue's Campus Information Technology Plan involves all areas on the West Lafayette campus and has three main components:

  • A new governance model for IT on the West Lafayette campus.
  • Approaches to generate $15 million annually in reduced costs or added revenue.
  • Strategies to make IT responsive to the needs of all areas of the university.

Two high-level governance committees are responsible for executing the Campus Information Technology Plan — the IT Strategic Governance Committee and the IT Operational Oversight Committee.

Campus IT Plan

Management Operations Review Team (MORT) Reports


David Carmichael

Director of IT, College of Engineering; Director, ECN; & Academic Computing Liaison


Donna Cumberland

Executive Director, Research Computing

Brent Drake thumbnail

Brent Drake

Chief Data Officer, Office of Institutional Research, Assessment and Effectiveness


Douglas R. Foster

Associate Vice President for IT Application Services & Deputy Chief Information Officer

Hedrick Thumbnail

Greg Hedrick

Chief Information Security Officer

James Johnson

James Johnson

Director, Fiscal Affairs


Julie Kercher-Updike

Associate Vice President of Teaching & Learning Technologies and IT Customer Relations

Nishant Rao Photo

Nishant Rao

Director, College of Science Information Technology & Academic Computing Liaison


Dan Schumacher

Interim Executive Director, IT Infrastructure Services

Pat Smoker thumbnail

Pat Smoker

Director/Department Head College of Ag IT & Academic Computing Liaison

Anita Tuttle Photo

Anita Tuttle

Director of Information Technology, College of Health & Human Science & Academic Computing Liaison


Jackie Wilson

Director, Information Technology Human Resources

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2015 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by ITaP

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact