Purdue Center for Cancer Research (PCCR) Advisors

Director’s Advancement Board

They may not be raising awareness and securing funds, but their assistance and guidance are invaluable. This Director’s Advancement Board helps guide PCCR in raising awareness and securing funds — an important aspect of any research-based institution. They assist our director, Timothy Ratliff, and the executive committee set goals and identify opportunities for public, governmental and private fundraising.

Current Director’s Advancement Board Members

List of Current Director's Advancement Board Members
Ms. Beth Bangs West Lafayette, IN
Mr. Donald Dunaway Naples, FL
Mr. Todd Gilman Manhattan Beach, CA
Ms. Donna Heckler St. Louis, MO
Ms. Paula Klipsch Carmel, IN
Ms. Joy Matson Rossville, IN
Mr. Rick Miller Plymouth, IN
Ms. Martha (Marti) Schmidt Naperville, IL
Mr. Don Schoeff Huntington, IN
Mr. Alan Karpick West Lafayette, IN


List of Ambassador
Ms. Linda Rohrman Lafayette, IN

Drug Evaluation Committee

The overall goal of this committee is to help PCCR increase the number and quality of lead therapeutic molecules in development in the drug discovery pipeline at Purdue University, specifically those drugs with the potential to treat or prevent cancer.

Dr. John Landis

Dr. Gunda Georg

Dr. James S. MacDonald

Dr. Philip Hipskind

Dr. Homer Pearce

Dr. Ivan Horak

Dr. Catherine Strader

Dr. Arthur M. Krieg

Dr. Kalpana Merchant

Dr. Nicholas Meanwell

Dr. Franklyn G. Prendergast

External Advisory Committee

PCCR’s Advisory Committee is composed of outside authorities in cancer research. The expertise of these 11 scientists drives research initiatives in cancer drug discovery and evaluation, target validation, DNA damage-response mechanisms, toxicology, antitumor agent development, and engineering, among other areas. Their objective insights and guidance are integral to the continued progress of PCCR.


Robert Lewis, Ph.D.


Eppley Institute for Research in Cancer and Allied Diseases

University of Nebraska Medical Center


H. Kim Lyerly, M.D., FACS

George Barth Geller Professor of Cancer Research

Professor of Surgery

Associate Professor of Pathology / Assistant Professor of Immunology

Duke University School of Medicine


Michael Ostrowski, Ph.D.


Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Medical University of South Carolina


Steven K. Clinton, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor, Internal Medicine

The Ohio State University (Comprehensive Cancer Center)


Mark Walter, Ph.D. (CHAIR)


Department of Microbiology / University of Alabama Birmingham


Peter Wipf, Ph.D.

Director of the Combinatorial Chemistry Center and

The Center for Chemical Methodologies and Library Development

University of Pittsburgh


Kit Lam, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor and Chair

Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Medicine

Professor of Medicine

Division of Hematology & Oncology

University of California Davis Cancer Center


Edison T. Liu, M.D.

President and CEO

The Jackson Laboratory


Tamara Minko, Ph.D.

Distinguished Professor and Chair

Department of Pharmaceutics

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey


Dennis E. Discher

Robert D. Bent Professor

University of Pennsylvania


Anita L. Harrison, MPA

Consulting Director

Member, Cancer Center Services Team