

2017 Distinguished Women Scholars

Friday, March 10, 2017 Purdue Memorial Union (PMU) Room 118

2:00 | Welcoming Remarks
Deba Dutta

Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Diversity

2:10 | Introduction and Presentation of Distinguished Women Scholars
Patrice M. Buzzanell
Chair and Director, Susan Bulkeley Butler Center for Leadership Excellence

2:25 | Scholars' Address and Statements Caula Beyl, Ph.D., Dept. of Horticulture & Landscape Architecture, CoA, 1979 Kristine Blair, Ph.D., Department of English, CLA, 1994

Yael Edan, Ph.D., Dept. of Agricultural and Biological Engineering, Nominated by the School of Industrial Engineering, CoE, 1990

Vicki McCracken, Ph.D., Dept. of Agricultural Economics, CoA, 1984 Marcy Towns, Ph.D., Dept. of Chemistry, CoS, 1994

3:00 | Reception Begins

4:00 | Reception Concludes



This event is sponsored by the Office of the Provost and the Susan Bulkeley Butler Center for Leadership Excellence



2017 Distinguished Women Scholars



Dr. Caula Beyl earned her Ph.D. in 1979 from the Department of Horticulture & Landscape Architecture in Purdue's College of Agriculture. She currently is the Dean of the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources at the University of Tennessee. She has served as principal investigator or co-PI on 43 funded research projects in various areas of horticulture, stress physiology, and space biology. Her research has resulted in 41 refereed research publications, 10 book chapters, one video, one monographs, and 123 abstracts, presentations, or proceedings of which 23 are on institutional research and assessment. Dr. Beyl brings a wealth of experience not only in the teaching and research arenas, but as an administrator with a keen understanding of documenting learning and academic effectiveness and a passion for fostering the role of women in leadership. Since joining the University of Tennessee in June of 2007, she has focused on retention, recruitment, diversity, and women's leadership issues as well as techniques for experiential learning.



Dr. Kristine Blair earned her Ph.D. in 1994 in Department of English, specifically in Rhetoric and Composition, at Purdue University. She currently serves as Dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences at Youngstown State University. She taught courses in digital composing and scholarly publication in the Rhetoric and Writing Doctoral Program at Bowling Green State University from 1996-2016, where she also served as English Department Chair from 2005-2014. In addition to her publications in the areas of gender and technology, online learning, electronic portfolios, and faculty development, Dr. Blair currently serves as editor of both the international print journal *Computers and Composition* and its separate companion journal *Computers and Composition Online*. Among her numerous awards are the Conference on College Composition and Communication's Technology Innovator Award and the Computers and Composition Charles Moran Award for Distinguished Contributions to the Field.



Dr. Yael Edan received a B.Sc in Computer Engineering, Technion; M.Sc in Agricultural Engineering, Technion and Ph.D. in Agricultural Engineering, Purdue University. She is a Full Professor in Industrial Engineering at Ben-Gurion University of the Negev (BGU). She has performed research in robotics, sensors, simulation, and decision-making systems. Her current robotics research focuses on human-robot cooperation, sensor selection and fusion and agricultural robots. In addition, she has made major contributions in the introduction and application of intelligent automation and robotic systems to the field of agriculture with several patents. Dr. Edan has been involved in many international projects (USA, Japan, Europe). At BGU she has served in several management functions including Deputy Rector, Chair of the Dept. of Industrial Engineering and Management, Chair of the Paul Ivanier Center for Robotics and Production Management and is currently Director of the Agricultural, Biological and Cognitive Robotics Initiative. Dr. Edan is a member of the IEEE Robotics and Automation Society, and ASAE, Society for Engineering in Agricultural, Food and Biological Systems. She has been the Chair of the Flexible Automation and Robotics/Mechatronics and BioRobotics committees.



Dr. Vicki McCracken received her M.S. and Ph.D. from Purdue's Department of Agricultural Economics in 1981 and 1984 respectively. Her studies at Purdue built on her undergraduate experience at Indiana University where she earned a BA from in 1978 with an emphasis in Human Nutrition. She joined the Agricultural Economics faculty at Washington State University following her graduation from Purdue where she progressed through the ranks of Assistant, Associate and Full Professor. Dr. McCracken's passion has always been teaching and research, but her leadership skills were quickly recognized at Washington State University. In 1994 she was appointed Associate Director of Washington State University's Agricultural Research Center and has held critical leadership positions ever since. From 1998 to 2004 she was Associate Dean and Director of Academic Programs (Interim from 1998-2000) for Washington State University's College of Agricultural, Human and Natural Resources. In 2004 she moved into administration at the university level as Associate Vice President and Associate Vice Provost for Enrollment Services, a position she held until 2007. In 2007 she was appointed Interim Associate Director for Washington State's Agricultural Research Center. Dr. McCracken is currently Associate Director and Professor in the School of Economic Sciences at Washington State University.



Dr. Marcy Towns is a Professor of Chemistry, Associate Department Head, and Director of General Chemistry at Purdue University. She is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) 2009, and a Fellow of the American Chemical Society (ACS) 2012. She will receive the American Chemical Society's 2017 Award for Achievement in Research for the Teaching and Learning of Chemistry. She received the Society of College Science Teachers and National Science Teachers Association 2015 Outstanding Undergraduate Science Teaching Award. She has won Purdue University's most prestigious honors for teaching including The Class of 1922 Outstanding Innovation in Helping Students Learn Award (2015) with Cindy Harwood, and the Charles B. Murphy Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award (2013). She also received the chemistry department's most prestigious honor for teaching, the Arthur B. Kelly Award in 2013. She has held a number of elected and appointed positions in American Chemical Society's (ACS) Division of Chemical Education including the Chair in 2015 and a 9-year membership on the ACS Examinations Institute Board of Trustees. She has over 70 publications, over 1400 citations, and over 100 international and national presentations. She is an Associate Editor for the *Journal of Chemical Education*, one of the top journals in her field, focusing on manuscripts pertaining to chemistry education research.