ADVANCE-Purdue and the Center for Faculty Success A Department within the Division of Diversity and Inclusion


Two Women Faculty Named Murphy Award Winner

May 6, 2014

Kathleen Howell, the Hsu Lo Distinguished Professor of Aeronautical and Astronautical Engineering, and Suzanne Nielsen, professor of Food Science, have been named recipients of the 2014 Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Awards in Memory of Charles B. Murphy. The faculty members were surprised with the news during classes on Monday March 24.

Purdue will continue to announce Murphy Award winners throughout the week.

The University's highest undergraduate teaching honor, the Murphy Award is accompanied by a $10,000 cash award and induction into Purdue's Teaching Academy, which provides leadership for the improvement of undergraduate, graduate and outreach teaching. Murphy was a history professor at Purdue from 1927 to 1970.

Bookmark and Share

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2015 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by ADVANCE-Purdue and the Center for Faculty Success

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact ADVANCE-Purdue and the Center for Faculty Success at