Purdue News

February 15, 2005

Purdue names 14 faculty to teaching academy

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. – Purdue University recently inducted 14 new members into The Purdue Teaching Academy, which consists of fellows and associate fellows that provide leadership for the improvement of undergraduate, graduate and outreach teaching.

Members are chosen by the academy's executive council from nominations by each college and school. Colleges and schools are allowed to nominate one faculty member for a fellowship and one faculty or staff member for an associate fellowship each year.

Winners are chosen because they have demonstrated excellence in teaching and have identified and solved a problem within education.

Five of the 10 new fellow inductees have won Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Awards in Memory of Charles B. Murphy, which automatically qualifies them for fellowship.

Susan Watts, associate professor of management and a recent Murphy Award winner, was a fellow of the academy before she received her Murphy Award. Newly inducted Murphy Award winners are:

• Douglas Adams, assistant professor of mechanical engineering.

• Kristina Bross, associate professor of English.

• Janice Kelly, professor of psychological sciences.

• Stephen Konieczny, professor of biological sciences.

• Dale Oderman, associate professor of aviation technology.

Other fellows inducted at the ceremony are:

• Mikhail Atallah, distinguished professor of computer science.

• Diane Denis, associate professor of management.

• Heidi Diefes-Dux, assistant professor of engineering education.

• Chris Oseto, professor of entomology and director of the University Honors Program.

• Richard Rand, professor of visual and performing arts.

The four associate fellows inducted are:

• Deitra Kuester, graduate research assistant in educational studies.

• Jennifer Pate Offenberg, graduate teaching assistant in management.

• Peter Ward, graduate teaching assistant in basic medical sciences.

• Meredith Weisberg Zoetewey, graduate teaching assistant in English.

Established in 1997, the Teaching Academy supports the Faculty Mentoring Network, which provides faculty of all ranks with opportunities to improve their teaching skills through collaboration.

In cooperation with the Office of the Provost, the academy also sponsors Conversations on Teaching, a series of monthly discussions about educational issues and pedagogy.

More information on the Teaching Academy is available online.

Writer: Amy Raley, (765) 494-9573, araley@purdue.edu

Purdue News Service: (765) 494-2096; purduenews@purdue.edu


To the News Service home page

Newsroom Search Newsroom home Newsroom Archive