Jump to main page content
Purdue signature
Purdue

Registration and Course Assignment

  1. Registration

    Students shall register during a prescribed period prior to the beginning of each semester or session. Registration for courses shall be accomplished in accordance with the procedures prescribed by the registrar. Late registrations will be accepted for one week after the beginning of classes in a regular semester and three days after the beginning of classes in a summer session. After the beginning of any session a late registrant shall be assessed an additional late registration fee (University Senate Document 73-6, January 28, 1974).

  2. Immunization Requirements

    Effective August 1995, Indiana state law requires all newly enrolled, full-time students attending residential campuses of Indiana public universities to be immunized against rubeola (10-day measles), rubella (German measles), mumps, diphtheria, and tetanus. This law requires the University to block the enrollment of any student who does not comply with immunization requirements.

    1. Evidence of immunization or immunity may be documented by completion of the Purdue Health History Form and signed by a healthcare provider. Other immunization records acceptable to the Indiana State Department of Health also may be used to document compliance with the immunization requirements. These include (1) a physician's certificate, (2) immunization records forwarded by another school, (3) a record maintained by the student or parent showing the month and year during which each dose of vaccine was administered.
    2. Requests for exemption to these requirements based on medical or religious grounds must be accompanied by written documentation. Medically based requests must be signed by a healthcare provider; requests based on religious convictions must be signed by the student and submitted to the Purdue Student Health Center.
    3. Exemptions for medical reasons may be granted upon receipt of a written statement from a healthcare provider:
      1. Indicating the nature and duration of a medical condition that contraindicates an immunization, along with the specific vaccine identified as detrimental to the student's health.
      2. Certifying pregnancy or suspected pregnancy.
      3. Verifying that the student is currently completing the course of all required immunizations.
    4. In the event of an outbreak of any of the vaccine preventable diseases covered by this law on or near campus, students holding exemptions will be excluded from all campus activities for their protection until the outbreak is declared to be over.
    5. Medical exemptions expire when the medical condition(s) contraindicating immunization change in a manner that permits immunization.
  3. Allowable Academic Load

    A student's academic load shall be arranged, so far as possible, in accordance with the following policy:

    1. Credit hours in excess of 18 hours during a regular session shall be carefully monitored by the academic advisor, who may wish to consult with appropriate University personnel concerning the student's prognosis for success. Unless the student's curriculum requirement for that session is specified as greater than 18 credit hours, approval by the dean of his/her school or the dean's designee must be obtained before the student may be assigned more than 18 credit hours.
    2. In summer session, a student may not be assigned to more than nine credit hours without approval by the dean of his/her school or the dean's designee (University Senate Document 83-5, as amended and approved January 23, 1984).
  4. Assignment to Intensive Courses

    No person shall be permitted to register in two intensive courses in the summer session at the same time. In general, no one who is taking an intensive course shall be permitted to take another nonintensive course at the same time except, in special cases, with the approval of the instructor in the intensive course, the head of the department administering the intensive course, and, for graduate students, the dean of the Graduate School.

  5. Assignment to a Dependent Course (University Senate Document 83-7, March 26, 1984)

    A student who received a grade of F, N, or U in any course shall not be admitted to any dependent course (one requiring the failed course as a prerequisite as set forth in the catalog), and any assignment to or enrollment in such dependent course shall be cancelled. Enrollment in a dependent course also may be cancelled if the student has not taken the prerequisite course or otherwise satisfied the stated requirements for enrolling in the course.

    A student who received a grade of E, I, PI, or SI in any course may be admitted to a dependent course on trial with the approval of the head of the department administering the course. A transfer student deficient in prerequisite courses also may be admitted to a dependent course on trial with the approval of the department head. If any student on trial is reported delinquent, the student's assignment to the course may be cancelled upon the recommendation of the instructor and with the concurrence of the department head.

    If a student on trial in a dependent course completes the course with a passing grade, his/her achievement may, by prior agreement, be construed as satisfying the requirements for changing an E grade in any prerequisite course in the same department, provided the department head approves and reports the change of grade properly to the registrar. However, satisfactory work in a dependent course shall not relieve the student of the requirement to complete required work in any prerequisite course in which a grade of I, PI, or SI (incomplete) was received. None of these provisions shall deprive a student of the opportunity to resolve a grade of E, I, PI, or SI in the normal manner. (See Academic Regulations and Procedures: Grades and Grade Reports, sections E and F.)

  6. Schedule Revisions (Applies to West Lafayette and North Central campuses only. University Senate Document 81-10, February 15, 1982, and University Senate Documents 83-7, March 26, 1984, and 83-8, March 26, 1984)

    Schedule revisions may occur following the beginning of a semester or session and are governed by policies intended to be uniformly administered across the various schools of the University. Students may revise their schedule in accordance with the following policy:

    1. Course Additions, Change of Level, or Change of Pass/Not-Pass Option. A student may add a course, change course level, or change the pass/not-pass option during the first four weeks of a semester or the first two weeks of a summer session by obtaining on the schedule revision form the signatures of the academic advisor and the instructor of the course to be added or changed, if in their judgments the student could satisfactorily fulfill the course objectives.

      In the case of extenuating circumstances, course changes may be made during weeks five through nine of a semester or during weeks three through four and one-half of a summer session, upon recommendation of the student's academic advisor, instructor, and head of the department in which the course is listed. Such course changes shall not be made during the last seven weeks of a semester or three and one-half weeks of a summer session.

      Week Restrictions
      1 No approval required
      2-4 Approval of academic advisor and instructor
      5-9 Extenuating circumstances only. Approval of academic advisor, instructor, and head of the department in which the course is listed.
      10-16 Not permitted
    2. Cancellation of Assignment. Students shall receive a grade for every course in which they are assigned unless the course assignment has been properly cancelled at the registrar's office upon presentation by the student of a request approved by the academic advisor. If there are extenuating circumstances, these must be stated on the request.

      When a course assignment is cancelled prior to the end of two weeks of a semester or one week of a summer session, the course will not be recorded on the student's record. When a course assignment is cancelled after two weeks and prior to the end of four weeks of a semester or after one week and prior to the end of two weeks of a summer session, a grade of W shall be recorded.

      After four weeks and prior to the end of nine weeks of a semester or after two weeks and prior to the end of four and one-half weeks of a summer session, a course assignment may be cancelled upon the request of the student with the approval of the academic advisor. The instructor shall indicate whether the student is passing or failing (see Academic Procedures and Regulations: Grades and Grade Reports, section D). If the student is not passing, the case may be referred by either the student or the instructor to the dean of students, who, after consultations with the dean or the designee of the student's school and other appropriate University agencies, shall determine whether there are sufficient extenuating circumstances beyond the student's reasonable control to justify the cancellation of the course assignment without a failing grade.

      No course assignment shall be cancelled within the last seven weeks of any semester or three and one-half weeks of a summer session. The cancellation of all course assignments constitutes withdrawal from the University. Cancellation of all course assignments as a result of withdrawal shall be treated and recorded in the same manner as the cancellation of a single course assignment with the additional provision that the dean of students shall determine and assign the appropriate effective date to the withdrawal.

      Week Restrictions
      1-2 No approval required, course will not be recorded.
      3-4 Approval of academic advisor; course will be recorded with grade of W.
      5-9 Approval of academic advisor. The instructor shall indicate whether the student is passing or failing (University Senate Document 91-5, February 24, 1992). A grade of W, WF, WN, or WU will be recorded. In case of a W, WF, WN, or WU, exceptions shall be determined by the dean of students. This restriction includes weeks 5-12 at the North Central Campus (University Senate Document 93-14, September 26, 1994). Undergraduate students with a semester classification of 0 and fewer than 31 hours of college credit, or with a semester classification of 1 or 2, need not have the instructor's signature. Grades recorded for these students will be W (University Senate Document 91-5, February 24, 1992).
      10-16 Course assignments cannot be cancelled during this period.
    3. Exceptions. Exceptions to the preceding regulations for registration, schedule revision, and cancellation of assignment may be made for courses that do not span the regular semester or summer session.
  7. Withdrawal from the University

    A student who withdraws from the University during any semester or summer session shall secure a written authorization from the head of the school in which he/she is registered and from the dean of students and shall present it to the registrar of the University for proper entry upon the record. Each assignment on the student's schedule will be cancelled by the registrar in accordance with regulations governing cancellation of assignments. In cases of emergency, when a personal interview is impossible the student should present to the head of the school a proper written statement containing the reasons for his/her withdrawal.

    When a student withdraws from the University, the registrar will issue authorization for refunds in accordance with the existing policy regarding such refunds.

  8. Refunding of Fees and Tuition (Board of Trustees minutes, December 7, 1950, and October 23, 1963)

    Registered students who find it necessary to cancel their registration prior to the beginning of classes, upon the recommendation of the registrar, will receive a 100 percent refund of all fees and tuition.

    Students who withdraw during the first six weeks of a semester, with the recommendation of the registrar, will receive a partial refund of the general service fee and tuition. More specifically, the percentage of refund is determined as follows:

    1. Fall or spring semester
      1. Withdrawal during the first or second week - 80 percent refund
      2. Withdrawal during the third or fourth week - 60 percent refund
      3. Withdrawal during the fifth or sixth week - 40 percent refund.
    2. Summer modules

      Refunds for summer modules are proportionate on the same basis as semester refunds.

      No portion of the health, student activity, recreation facilities, or academic building facilities fees will be refunded on or after the beginning of classes.

      For first-time students to Purdue University with Title IV Aid, and once classes begin, refunds are prorated based on the date of withdrawal from class(es). Refunds are calculated on all fees and tuition based on a diminishing scale. The refund period is through week 10 of the fall and spring semesters and through week five for an eight-week summer module. An administrative fee of $100 or five percent of tuition, fees, room, board, and other charges, whichever is less, will be deducted. Questions should be addressed to the Bursar's Office.

  9. Granting Academic Credit to Students Who Withdraw from the University upon Order of Induction into Military Service
    1. Seniors who are candidates for degrees during any semester will receive full credit after the completion of eight or more weeks provided the grades are passing at the time of withdrawal. There will be no refund of fees in such cases.
    2. No credit will be granted to a student who withdraws during the first five weeks of any semester. After the end of the fifth week, academic credit will be granted according to the following plan, with the understanding that the student concerned has a passing grade or better in those courses in which academic credit is desired. When the grade is not passing, a W will be entered in his/her record. Fractions of credit other than those specified below will be adjusted to the nearest specified fraction. In no case will credit for less than one-third of an hour be recorded.
      Time of Withdrawl
      Semester Summer Session Proportion of
      Total Credits
      in Each Course
      6th and 7th weeks 4th week 1/3
      8th and 9th weeks 5th week 1/2
      10th, 11th, and 12th weeks 6th and 7th weeks 2/3
      After 12th week 8th week Full credit