

Senate Document 23-35 (revised and amended) 18 March 2024

To: The University Senate

From: The Faculty Affairs Committee

Subject: Senate Representation for Purdue in Indianapolis (PIN)

Faculty

Reference: University Senate Bylaw 2.00 b 4

Disposition: University Senate for Discussion and Adoption

Rationale: Bylaw 2.00 b 4 currently states that Senate

representation includes "Three members elected by and representing the faculties of the regional campuses: one each from Purdue Northwest, Purdue Fort Wayne, and Indiana University–Purdue University Indianapolis."

IUPUI will no longer exist starting on 1 July 2024. Purdue University Indianapolis will be newly created as

a division of Purdue West Lafayette.

Purdue Indy faculty will be part of apportionment processes, overseen by Steering, conducted yearly in October. However, there are approximately 60 faculty

members who will have University Tenure in

Indianapolis. No new faculty will be hired into this stream, and this group will decrease through faculty

retirements over time.

Proposal: PIN as a distinct unit should enjoy Senate

representation. The Bylaws should therefore be revised

as follows:

Current:

The representation of the Senate is apportioned as follows:

- 1. The President of the University.
- 2. The Chief Academic Officer and the Chief Fiscal Officer of the University.

Proposed:

The representation of the Senate is apportioned as follows:

- 1. The President of the University.
- 2. The Chief Academic Officer and the Chief Fiscal Officer of the University.

- 3. The Chairperson and Vice Chairperson of the Senate.
- 4. Three members elected by and representing the faculties of the regional campuses: one each from Purdue Northwest, Purdue Fort Wayne, and Indiana University—Purdue University Indianapolis.
- 5. One undergraduate student member selected annually by the Purdue Student Government (PSG) and one graduate student member selected annually by the Purdue Graduate Student Government (PGSG), with terms of office to begin on June 1.
- 6. The remaining ninety-four members are apportioned among the faculty units according to the number of faculty members attached to the respective faculty unit. This includes those the President assigns to participate in faculty government procedures, with the provision that no faculty unit has fewer than two members. Where a Dean is administratively responsible for more than one school, the faculties of these schools are considered a single faculty unit.

- 3. The Chairperson and Vice Chairperson of the Senate.
- 4. Two members elected by and representing the faculties of the regional campuses: one each from Purdue Northwest and Purdue Fort Wayne.
- 5. Two members elected by and representing the faculty who hold University Tenure.
- 6. One undergraduate student member selected annually by the Purdue Student Government (PSG) and one graduate student member selected annually by the Purdue Graduate Student Government (PGSG), with terms of office to begin on June 1.
- 7. The remaining ninety-three members are apportioned among the faculty units according to the number of faculty members attached to the respective faculty unit. This includes those the President assigns to participate in faculty government procedures, with the provision that no faculty unit has fewer than two members. Where a Dean is administratively responsible for more than one school, the faculties of these schools are considered a single faculty unit.

Committee Votes:

For:	Against:	Abstained:	Absent:
Françoise Brosseau-Lapré * Patricia Davies Ann Loomis Lisa Mauer Sunil Prabhakar Paul Robinson Jennifer Scheuer Anish Vanaik * Eric Waltenburg	N/A	N/A	Michael Campion Ajay Malshe (for Arezoo Arkedani)

^{*} Indicates co-chairs