The Lu Ann Aday Award


Annual announcement is distributed to the West Lafayette campus academic deans and faculty in January. Nominations are submitted through the Office of the Executive Vice President for Research and Partnerships. The Selection Committee comprised of representatives of the faculties meets in the late spring to determine the winner.

Background & Guidelines

Lu Ann Aday

The establishment of the Lu Ann Aday Award replaces the Research and Scholarship Distinction Award by formally endowing Purdue’s most prestigious research award in the humanities and social sciences.

Purdue University alumna Lu Ann Aday, the Lorne D. Bain Distinguished Professor Emerita in Public Health and Medicine at the University of Texas School of Public Health-Houston, has endowed Purdue’s most prestigious research award in the humanities and social sciences.

Aday came to Purdue for a master’s and doctoral degree in sociology after receiving a bachelor’s degree in agricultural economics from Texas Tech University in 1968. In 2004, Purdue conferred an honorary doctorate of social sciences to Aday.

Aday was formerly associate director for research at the Center for Health Administration Studies of the University of Chicago. She has conducted major national and community surveys and evaluations of national demonstrations and published extensively on public health, including authoring 16 books dealing with conceptual or empirical aspects of research on access to health and health care for vulnerable populations.

The Lu Ann Aday Award is intended to honor recent past achievement(s) of major impact; the award is not a "lifetime achievement" award.

The Award

The Lu Ann Aday Award consists of a monetary prize of $4,000 plus an additional contribution of $7,000 to support the research of the recipient.

Who is Eligible

Any faculty member on the West Lafayette campus who has made a recent significant contribution in pure or applied science or engineering is eligible for the award, regardless of school or departmental affiliation.

Investigators are eligible to receive only one of the University-wide research awards - the Lu Ann Aday Award, the Arden L. Bement Jr. Award, or the Herbert Newby McCoy Award.


Nominations are solicited from any member of the University. Recipients are restricted to members of the faculty on the West Lafayette campus.

Nomination Instructions

Nomination packets should be submitted electronically as a single PDF file to Sherri Neibert ( The nomination packet should include in the following order:

  1. A concise summary statement, not more than two pages in length, that describes the impact and significance of the nominee’s recent work leading to nomination for the Lu Ann Aday Award.
  2. The nominee's curriculum vitae.
  3. A complete list of all scholarly or creative works during the five-year period preceding January 1, 2018.
  4. Copies of no more than five discipline-appropriate works, such as publications, manuscripts or patents that substantiate the impact of the contribution.
  5. Any additional supporting information that the nominator considers to be significant.
  6. Include no more than five letters supporting the impact and significance of the nominee’s contribution to their field.  Letters, not more than three years old, from previous nominations for the award may be submitted.
  7. A brief statement of the letter writers' expertise, distinctions, and relationship, if any, to the nominee.

Award Process

To help the selection committees appreciate the impact and significance of the nominee’s work, nominators (or their representatives) will be invited to make a brief presentation and answer questions during the selection committee meetings. This presentation is important in the selection process as it allows committee members to more fully understand the impact of the work. The presentation schedule will be developed after all nominations have been received.

Award Announcement

The recipient of the Lu Ann Aday Award is notified by the Executive Vice President for Research and Partnerships and a public announcement will be made in early September each year.

Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN 47907 (765) 494-4600

© 2017 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by the Office for Research and Partnerships

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact the Office for Research and Partnerships at