The Herbert Newby McCoy Award


Annual announcement is distributed to the West Lafayette campus academic deans and faculty in January. Nominations are submitted through the Office of the Executive Vice President for Research and Partnerships. The Selection Committee comprised of representatives of the faculties meets in the late spring to determine the winner.

Background & Guidelines

The Herbert Newby McCoy Award was established in 1964 by Mrs. Ethel Terry McCoy in honor of her husband, a distinguished Purdue alumnus. A native of Indiana, Herbert Newby McCoy studied chemistry at Purdue University where he received a B.S. degree in 1892 and a M.S. degree in 1893. His Ph.D. was earned at the University of Chicago in 1898. McCoy spent the early part of his career, teaching at North Dakota State University, the University of Utah, and the University of Chicago. During the latter part of his career, he was president of Carnotite Reduction Company in Chicago and vice president of Lindsay Light and Chemical Company, also in Chicago. He died in 1945 in Los Angeles, California.

To support her husband's life-long interest in science, Mrs. McCoy designated that this annual award be made to a student or faculty member in the science departments of Purdue University making the greatest contribution of the year to science. Since the first award was conferred in the spring of 1965, it has remained the most prestigious research award given by the University in the natural sciences area. Nominations are invited from all faculty members, and the recipient is selected by representatives of the science faculties and the president of the University.

An individual cannot be nominated for both the McCoy Award and the Arden L. Bement Jr. Award, as this latter award is limited to faculty not eligible for the McCoy Award. The Herbert Newby McCoy Award is intended to honor a recent past achievement(s) of major scientific impact; the award is not a "lifetime achievement" award.

The Award

The Herbert Newby McCoy Award consists of a monetary prize of $4,000 plus an additional contribution of $7,000 to support the research of the recipient.

Who is Eligible

Any student or faculty member on the West Lafayette campus who has made a recent significant contribution in the natural sciences is eligible for nomination for the award, regardless of school or departmental affiliation.

Investigators are eligible to receive only one of the University-wide research awards.


Nominations are solicited from any member of the University. Recipients are restricted to members of the faculty on the West Lafayette campus.

Nomination Instructions

Nomination packets should be submitted electronically as a single PDF file to Sherri Neibert ( by February 28, 2017. The nomination packet should include in the following order:

  1. A concise summary statement, not more than two pages in length, that describes the impact and significance of the nominee’s recent work justifying nomination for the McCoy Award.
  2. The nominee's curriculum vitae.
  3. A complete list of all publications or similar works produced during the five-year period preceding January 1, 2017.
  4. Copies of no more than five publications, manuscripts, or similar works that substantiate the impact of the contribution.
  5. Any additional supporting information that the nominator considers to be significant.
  6. Include no more than five letters supporting the impact and significance of the nominee’s contribution to science.  Letters supporting previous nominations for the award may be submitted if they were written within the preceding three years.
  7. A brief statement of the letter writers' expertise, distinctions, and relationship, if any, to the nominee.

Award Process

To help the selection committee appreciate the impact and significance of the nominee’s work, nominators (or their representatives) will be invited to make a brief presentation and answer questions during the selection committee meeting. This presentation carries substantial weight in the selection process as it allows committee members to more fully understand the impact of the work.

Award Announcement

The recipient of the Herbert Newby McCoy Award is notified by the Executive Vice President for Research and Partnerships and a public announcement will be made in early September each year.

Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN 47907 (765) 494-4600

© 2017 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by the Office for Research and Partnerships

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact the Office for Research and Partnerships at