Arden L. Bement Jr. Award


Annual announcement is distributed to the West Lafayette campus academic deans and faculty in January. Nominations are submitted through the Office of the Executive Vice President for Research and Partnerships. The Selection Committee comprised of representatives of the faculties meets in the late spring to determine the winner.

Background & Guidelines

The Arden L. Bement Jr. Award is an annual award intended for faculty whose recent research or scholarship has made a major impact in the pure or applied science or engineering disciplines excluding the life sciences.

The Arden L. Bement Jr. Award was established in 2015 by Distinguished Professor Emeritus Arden Bement and his wife, Mrs. Louise Bement, to annually recognize a Purdue faculty member for recent outstanding accomplishments in pure and applied science and engineering. The award is the most prestigious award given by the University in pure or applied science or engineering.

Bement achieved international recognition as Director of the National Science Foundation and Director of the National Institute of Standards and Technology. He has a long and distinguished career with Purdue having served as the Basil S. Turner Distinguished Professor of Electroceramics, the David A. Ross Distinguished Professor of Nuclear Engineering, the Chief Global Affairs Officer and Inaugural Director of the Global Policy Research Institute.

Bement received his doctoral degree in metallurgical engineering from the University of Michigan. He has been commended by seven honorary degrees in science and engineering from universities in the U.S. and abroad. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and a fellow the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

The Arden L. Bement Jr. Award is intended to honor recent past achievement(s) of major impact; the award is not a "lifetime achievement" award.

The Award

The Arden L. Bement Jr. Award consists of a monetary prize of $4,000 plus an additional contribution of $7,000 to support the research of the recipient.

Who is Eligible

Any faculty member on the West Lafayette campus who has made a recent significant contribution in pure or applied science or engineering is eligible for the award, regardless of school or departmental affiliation.

Investigators are eligible to receive only one of the University-wide research awards - the Lu Ann Aday Award, the Arden L. Bement Jr. Award, or the Herbert Newby McCoy Award.


Nominations are solicited from any member of the University. Recipients are restricted to members of the faculty on the West Lafayette campus.

Nomination Instructions

Nomination packets should be submitted electronically as a single PDF file to Sherri Neibert ( The nomination packet should include in the following order:

  1. A concise summary statement, not more than two pages in length, that describes the impact and significance of the nominee’s recent work leading to nomination for the Arden L. Bement Jr. Award.
  2. The nominee's curriculum vitae.
  3. A complete list of all scholarly or creative works during the five-year period preceding January 1, 2018.
  4. Copies of no more than five discipline-appropriate works, such as publications, manuscripts or patents that substantiate the impact of the contribution.
  5. Any additional supporting information that the nominator considers to be significant.
  6. Include no more than five letters supporting the impact and significance of the nominee’s contribution to their field.  Letters, not more than three years old, from previous nominations for the award may be submitted.
  7. A brief statement of the letter writers' expertise, distinctions, and relationship, if any, to the nominee.

Award Process

To help the selection committees appreciate the impact and significance of the nominee’s work, nominators (or their representatives) will be invited to make a brief presentation and answer questions during the selection committee meetings. This presentation is important in the selection process as it allows committee members to more fully understand the impact of the work. The presentation schedule will be developed after all nominations have been received.

Award Announcement

The recipient of the Arden L. Bement Jr. Award is notified by the Executive Vice President for Research and Partnerships and a public announcement will be made in early September each year.

Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN 47907 (765) 494-4600

© 2017 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by the Office for Research and Partnerships

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact the Office for Research and Partnerships at