Registration Time Ticket Groups

Priority Groups Monday, January 30, 2017 - Saturday, February 4, 2017
Graduate and Professional Monday, January 30, 2017, with different shutdown days depending on course/section meeting dates (module in which the course meets)
Seniors Monday, February 6, 2017 - Saturday, February 11, 2017
Juniors Monday, February 13, 2017 - Saturday, February 18, 2017
Sophomores Monday, February 20, 2017 - Saturday, February 25, 2017
Current Freshmen Monday, February 27, 2017 - Saturday, March 4, 2017
All current degree students, non-degree, transfer students, and new summer admits  Monday, March 6, 2017, with different shutdown days depending on course/section meeting dates (module in which the course meets)
Priority Groups Monday, March 20, 2017 - noon, Saturday, March 25, 2017
Graduate and Professional Monday, March 20, 2017 - Sunday, August 27, 2017
Seniors Monday, March 27, 2017 - noon, Saturday, April 1, 2017
Juniors Monday, April 3, 2017 - noon, Saturday, April 8, 2017
Sophomores Monday, April 10, 2017 - noon, Saturday, April 15, 2017
Current Freshmen Monday, April 17, 2017 - noon, Saturday, April 22, 2017
All current degree students, non-degree students, and new fall admits   Monday, April 24, 2017 - Friday, June 9, 2017
STAR Sessions (New Admits, New Transfer Students - Fall 2017)  Monday, June 19, 2017 - Friday, July 14, 2017 (Mon-Fri 6/19 - 6/30; Mon, Wed-Fri 7/3, 7/5-7/7; Mon-Fri 7/10-7/14)
Open for Fall 2017 New Students and New Transfer Students Only Monday, July 17, 2017 - Wednesday, July 19, 2017
Open for All Students, including Non-Degree Students  Monday, July 24, 2017 - Sunday, August 27, 2017
Priority Groups Monday, October 24, 2016 - Saturday, October 29, 2016
Graduate and Professional Monday, October 24, 2016 - Monday, January 16. 2017
Seniors Monday, October 31, 2016 - Saturday, November 5, 2016
Juniors Monday, November 7, 2016 - Saturday, November 12, 2016
Sophomores Monday, November 14, 2016 - Saturday, November 19, 2016
Current Freshmen

Monday, November 21, 2016 - Wednesday, November 23, 2016

Monday, November 28. 2016 - Tuesday, November 29, 2016

Open for all current degree students, non-degree, transfer students, and new spring admits  Wednesday, November 30, 2016 - Monday, January 16, 2017

The above is for reference only; dates and times are subject to change.

Registration Information FAQs

Q. How do I know when I can begin to register for classes?

All students are assigned specific days and times that they can register for classes; this is determined by their current student classification (Senior, Junior, Sophomore, etc.). Reference charts above.  Note: For your exact day and time, please check your Registration Status via myPurdue.

Q. How are these group days and times determined?

They are determined by the student's current classification (total number of credit hours earned). This does not include courses for which a student is currently registered.

Q. How do I find out when I can register?

To find your registration status, follow the step-by-step instructions here. Look under "Registration Procedures."

Q. What is a Registration PIN and how do I get one?

A Registration PIN is assigned to students for access to the myPurdue registration system. Registration PIN numbers are distributed by academic advisors and are assigned each semester.

Q. How do I register for classes?

Detailed instructions for registration can be found here for using myPurdue or here for using the Scheduling Assistant.

Q. When do new spring admits and summer admits register?

Beginning November 30 for spring new and March 6 for summer new admits can begin to register for classes.

Q. What is a hold?

Holds refer to the restriction of a student’s eligibility to enroll in classes, change his/her curriculum or obtain academic transcripts at Purdue University. Holds can result from a variety of situations, including, but not limited to: nonpayment of library fines, parking tickets, and residence hall bills; disciplinary action taken by the Office of the Dean of Students; poor scholastic performance; or failure to meet immunization requirements. Prior to meeting with an advisor, a student needs to make certain his/her record is clear of financial and registration holds.

If a student is in hold status and would like to verify the hold, he/she can do so through myPurdue.  For further information, go to the Office of the Registrar, Room 45, Hovde Hall; call (765) 494-6165; or send an inquiry via e-mail to registrar@purdue.edu.

Q. How do you know if a section is cancelled?

When a section is cancelled, an e-mail will be sent to students registered in the cancelled section notifying them they need to move to a non-cancelled section.

The Office of the Registrar will flag the section as cancelled, remove the cancelled section time and instructor, and change the building and room to CANCELLED CLASS. The course will appear on the Concise Student Schedule as cancelled.

If a class is cancelled after a registration time period for a registration group has passed and prior to the open registration period, advisors can assist students in moving out of the cancelled section and registering for a non-cancelled section of that course, or, if the entire course is cancelled, registering for another course.

Q. Registration error questions?

You will find useful information here for responding to registration override inquiries.

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

2015 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Office of Registrar

Need accessibility help? For help with this page, contact Office of the Registrar at registrar@purdue.edu.