Jump to main page content
Purdue signature

A New Organization: Student Academic Affairs

On July 1, 2014, three administrative units – Undergraduate Academic Affairs, Student Affairs, and Housing and Food Services – came together as one division focused on the personal, professional and intellectual growth of Purdue students. The new student-centered division is called Student Academic Affairs.

This organization ensures a more direct and positive impact on the quality of education at Purdue, reduces confusion for students and the campus community, and creates greater operational efficiencies.

Organizational Framework: A High-Level Overview

The new structure came from much discussion and reflection by a committee appointed by President Daniels. Early drafts of the organization were shared with affected employees via email and two forums, and their feedback was very helpful to the process. A list of FAQs is available for review.

The committee members are:

  • Dale Whittaker, Vice Provost for Undergraduate Academic Affairs (Chair)
  • Brent Drake, Chief Data Officer
  • Frank Dooley, Associate Vice Provost for Undergraduate Academic Affairs
  • Jim Hintz, Associate Vice President for Student Affairs and Interim Dean of Students
  • Pam Horne, Associate Vice Provost for Enrollment Management and Dean of
  • Beth McCuskey, Associate Vice President, Housing and Food Services
  • Joan Fulton, Associate Department Head, Professor Ag Economics
  • Dennis Minchella, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education, College of
     Science; Professor of Biological Sciences; Foundations of Excellence Team
  • Christine Taylor, Vice Provost for Diversity and Chief Diversity Officer
  • Jared Tippets, Director, Student Success
  • Todd Wetzel, Director, Convocations