Jump to other news and events
Purdue Dean of Students Logo
Facebook Twitter Google+ YouTube 

Adult Student Organizations

Span Plan Adult Student Services at Purdue offers two adult student organizations:

Purdue Adult Student (PAS) Network
The Purdue Adult Student Network is a student organization that strives to connect adult nontraditional students to Purdue and other students.

Alpha Sigma Lambda (ASL)

ASL is a national honor society for adult nontraditional students based on scholarship and leadership. In addition to membership, ASL offers annual scholarships. The 2015 deadline for having your application materials submitted to the Span Plan office is Tuesday, April 15, 2015. Information about its scholarship program can be found on the ASL website. Applicants do not have to be a member of ASL to qualify for an ASL scholarship. A Purdue adult nontraditional student was awarded one of the ASL national scholarships in 2010.

Membership in Alpha Sigma Lambda is by invitation only. Invitations to join ASL are extended to qualified students early in the spring semester.

The 2014 induction ceremony was held on April 27, 2014 in Lawson Hall of Computer Science. Jamie Richards, Senior Assistant Dean of Military Veterans and Nontraditional Student Programs, was the keynote speaker. 

Thirteen outstanding Purdue adult nontraditional students were inducted: Jenna Bednarski, William J. Burley, Roberta Glon, Sara Hollingsworth, Tammy Lesher, Karrie Lincoln, Matthew Pendleton, Sandra Service, Elizabeth Stremke, Emily Thompson, Nicholas Warden, Arielle Zawadsky-Weist, and Jiajing Zhao.

Four outstanding staff members were inducted as honorary members, in recognition of their ongoing support for the adult student population of Purdue University:

  • Stacey Dunderman, Academic Advisor in the College of Science
  • Sindie Anne Hornbeck, Student Services Coordinator for the College of Technology Statewide campus in Lafayette.
  • Roxanne Martin, Scholarships Coordinator in the Division of Financial Aid
  • James A. McCann, Professor of Political Science

Alpha Sigma Lambda inductees

Span Plan staff; 2014 student and honorary inductees