April 21, 2017

Appointments, honors and activities

Faculty and staff honors:

- The Office of Research Communications, part of the Executive Vice President for Research and Partnerships, has received a Best of Division award from the Great Lakes Graphics Association for its FY2015 EVPRP annual report. The Great Lakes Graphics Association is a trade association covering Indiana, Illinois and Wisconsin.

- Thomas Siegmund, professor of mechanical engineering, was elected president of the Society of Engineering Science for the 2017 term. Founded in 1963 at Purdue University under the lead of former Purdue professor A.C. Eringen, the Society of Engineering Science's mission is to promote the free exchange of information on all aspects of engineering science and to provide a forum for discussion, education and recognition of the talents of the engineering science community.  The Society of Engineering Science represents about 700 members. Siegmund is the first Purdue faculty member elected to this position since Eringen.

- University Residences recognized three Purdue University educators for their positive interactions with students at the third annual Favorite Faculty Reception. Michele Strutz, continuing lecturer in the School of Engineering Education, received the Most Distinguished Faculty for Academics award for educating students in an engaging way, both in and out of the classroom. Bridgette Tonnsen, assistant professor of psychological sciences, received the Most Distinguished Faculty for Research award for research that has influenced a student’s passion within that field of study. Lindsey Payne, director of service learning in the Office of Engagement and courtesy assistant professor in Environmental and Ecological Engineering, received the Most Outstanding Faculty award for demonstrating strengths on the pillars of service, research and teaching.  

Alumni honors:

- Richard Eisenbarth, of Jacksonville, Florida, has been inducted to the Hospitality and Tourism Management Hall of Fame. Eisenbarth received a bachelor’s degree in hospitality and tourism management when it was RHIT. He is now the president and COO of Cini-Little. He is known for his design of dynamic, resourceful and efficient food and beverage facilities worldwide. Along with being a Distinguished Purdue HTM Alumni, Eisenbarth has served on the School of Hospitality and Tourism Management’s Strategic Alliance Council for many years.

- Steve Bauman, of Woodbridge, Virginia, has been inducted into the Hospitality and Tourism Management Hall of Fame. Before joining Marriott Hotels, Resorts and Suites, Bauman had a 20-year career in the U.S. Army. While at Marriott, Bauman created Total Quality Management Programs, executive education programs and the division’s performance management system. He spent his last 14 years at Marriott as vice-president of management staffing and development, focusing on talent assessment, university relations and college recruiting, global property general managers and area staffing, in addition to others.

- Pete Sears received the College of Health and Human Sciences Distinguished Alumni Award in 2017. This award honors alumni who have significantly advanced their careers and have demonstrated noteworthy professional accomplishments that reflect favorably in their profession, Purdue and society. Currently, Sears is the Group President - Americas at Hyatt Hotels Corp. He is responsible for the growth and successful operation of Hyatt’s portfolio in the United States, Latin America and Caribbean. 

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2015-17 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Office of Strategic Communications

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact News Service at purduenews@purdue.edu.