Purdue features students who are 'making news'

November 2, 2012  


WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. — Purdue University is highlighting five students who are focusing on different aspects of mass communication, including meteorology, photography and journalism.

Purdue Marketing and Media has developed a website at https://www.purdue.edu/fivestudents/news-makers/index.html that includes information about the students and their career aspirations.

The five "News Makers" are:

* Abigail Maurer of Bargersville, Ind., a senior studying agricultural communication. She attended a writing course at the World Journalism Institute last summer and hopes to become a freelance writer covering food and people.

* James Parish of Bath, Ohio, a senior studying atmospheric science. He delivers weather on "Fast Track," Purdue's student-produced television news, and has interned in meteorology departments at two news stations in Ohio during past summers.

* Angela Petrie of Fort Wayne, Ind., a junior studying communication. She is interested in a career in public relations and advertising and is currently working at Purdue's Center for Career Opportunities, where she designs, edits and manages the center's brand across various platforms.

* Elena Sparger of West Lafayette, Ind., a freshman studying English. She is interested in a career focused on writing and is gaining experience as a reporter at The Exponent, the student newspaper, and as a judge for "The Bell Tower," Purdue's undergraduate student creative writing magazine.

* Steven Yang of Honolulu, Hawaii., a senior studying mass communication. He is working as a photographer for Purdue Marketing and Media and previously was photo editor at The Exponent.

Writer: Amy Patterson Neubert, 765-494-9723, apatterson@purdue.edu

Sources:

Abigail Maurer, maurer@purdue.edu

James Parish, parish@purdue.edu

Angela Petrie, petrie@purdue.edu

Elena Sparger, esparger@purdue.edu

Steven Yang, seyang@purdue.edu

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

2014 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Marketing and Media

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact Purdue Marketing and Media at online@purdue.edu.