Appointments, honors and activities

November 30, 2012  

Faculty and staff honors:

- Purdue associate professor of botany and plant pathology Kiersten Wise is part of a team of scientists from agricultural experiment stations at land-grant universities that received the 2012 Experiment Station Section Award of Excellence in Multistate Research. The team was selected for its work in identifying management strategies for soybean rust, a fungal disease that poses a serious threat to U.S. soybean production. For the past five years, the National Institute of Food and Agriculture and the Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities have presented this award in recognition of successful, well-coordinated, high-impact research and Extension efforts. The team, of which Wise is committee chair, was honored at the Annual APLU Awards Program in Denver on Nov. 11. The group also was recognized for innovative research on disease-resistant soybean varieties, which will provide more environmentally and economically sustainable long-term disease management.

- Marcus Rogers, professor of computer and information technology and CERIAS fellow, has been named the recipient of the Digital and Multimedia Sciences Section of the AAFS Outstanding Research Award. AAFS is the American Association of Forensic Sciences - the major professional association of investigators across all types of investigations. The award will be presented in 2013 at the annual AAFS meeting. Rogers is an internationally recognized expert in digital investigation techniques and cybercrime. He works with CERIAS personnel and students on advanced research topics and certification as a national center of excellence.

- Antwione Haywood, senior assistant director and coordinator of assessment, evaluation and communications in Student Success at Purdue, has received the 2012 Joseph P. Cangemi Dissertation Award from the Indiana University School of Education. The award is given to doctoral graduates in the IU School of Education, the Higher Education and Student Affairs program "who have completed an outstanding dissertation on the topic of leadership or a topic dealing closely with leadership and organizational behavior." Haywood successfully defended his dissertation earlier this year. The topic was "Model I & II Organizations: Examining Organizational Learning in Institutions Participating in the Academy for the Assessment of Student Learning."

- Bradley Lucier, professor of computer science and mathematics, has been named a fellow of the American Mathematical Society in recognition of his contributions to the creation, exposition, advancement, communication and utilization of mathematics.

- Tony Hosking and Ninghui Li, associate professors of computer science, were named 2013 Distinguished Scientists by the Association for Computing Machinery in recognition of their research accomplishments and contributions in computing. This distinction is the second highest level of distinction given by the association and less than 10 percent of members receive it.

Alumni honors:

- Computer Science alumnus Stuart H. Zweben received the 2012 Linton E. Grinter Distinguished Service Award from ABET, the recognized accreditor for college and university programs in applied science, computing, engineering and engineering technology. Zweben is a professor emeritus at The Ohio State University and earned his master's and doctoral degrees from Purdue in 1971 and 1974, respectively. Zweben has been involved in computing program accreditation since its onset and played a key role in the formation of the computing sciences accreditation board. More information is available at

Student honors:

- Mohamed Yakout received the Donald Ballou & Harold Pazar IQ Dissertation Award for his dissertation "Guided Data Cleaning." The award recognizes the dissertation that demonstrates the most significant contribution to the field of information quality. Yakout earned his doctoral degree in computer science in August and now works with Microsoft Bing.

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2014-17 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Integrity Statement | Copyright Complaints | Brand Toolkit | Maintained by Marketing and Media

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact us at so we can help.