Faculty scholarship, leadership recognized

April 29, 2010

The current and ongoing excellence of Purdue’s outstanding faculty was celebrated Wednesday (April 28) at the Faculty Awards Convocation.

In addition to recognizing individuals, the occasion testified to Purdue’s preeminence in advancing quality education, research and engagement that is nationally and internationally recognized.

Honorees at the convocation included the University’s distinguished and named professors. A list is at www.purdue.edu/provost/shtml/faculty/awards/named_distinguished.html.

Others were honored for selection in the past year to programs or positions that recognize their scholarly and/or leadership ability:

American Council on Education Fellows
* Audeen Fentiman, nuclear engineering
* Eckhard Groll, mechanical engineering

Fellowships for Study in a Second Discipline, 2009–10
* Janet Alsup, English education / educational psychology
* Ximena Arriaga, psychological sciences / political science and sociology
* Elena Benedicto, English / botany and plant pathology
* Ana Gómez-Bravo, foreign languages and literatures / foods and nutrition
* James Forney, biochemistry / statistics
* Mariko Wei, foreign languages and literatures / educational studies and speech, language, and hearing sciences

Jefferson Science Fellows
* Jay Gore, mechanical engineering
* Suresh Garimella, mechanical engineering

Provost Fellows
* Steven Abel, pharmacy practice
* Stephen Beaudoin, chemical engineering
* Scott Brandt, libraries
* Melba Crawford, agronomy/civil engineering/electrical and computer engineering

Committee on Institutional Cooperation–Academic Leadership Program Fellows
* Liping Cai, hospitality and tourism management
* Rebecca Doerge, statistics
* Eckhard Groll, mechanical engineering
* Linda Mason, entomology
* JoAnn Miller, sociology
* Phillip VanFossen, curriculum and instruction

Faculty Scholars, 2010–15
* College of Agriculture -- Scott D. Briggs, Joseph Irudayaraj, Dev Niyogi
* College of Engineering -- William J. Chappell, Eric A. Nauman, Steven D. Pekarek, Steven F. Son
* College of Liberal Arts -- Daniel W. Smith
* College of Science -- Saugata Basu, Garth J. Simpson, Robert Jeffrey Trapp