

**To:** The University Senate

**From:** The Student Affairs Committee

**Subject:** Steps in addressing campus sexual assault and misconduct

**Disposition:** University Senate for Discussion and Adoption

**Rationale:** Purdue Student Government has created the Safety, Accountability,

and Fostering an Environment of Respect (SAFER) Ad-Hoc committee to address safety issues taking place on campus, with special focus on sexual assault and misconduct. This committee, composed of individuals within Purdue Student Government and other members of the student body, is working on improving Purdue's response to instances of sexual assault, on educating students about the variety of resources Purdue offers for advocacy and health, and on pushing for larger systemic change at Purdue including the expansion of services.

The overall mission of the SAFER Committee is to create an environment on campus where students feel protected both physically and mentally from any form of sexual assault and misconduct, and where they will feel supported by the campus community and Purdue administration.

The University Senate is prepared to be a partner in these endeavors.

## **Proposal:** The University Senate supports the following policies:

Purdue will create a streamlined, easy-to-locate website where all sexual misconduct policies, information, and definitions, as well as current issues and statements reside. These policies and definitions will also be included in the student code of conduct.

All students will be required to pass a consent and misconduct module at the beginning of each academic year. Students will complete a contract affirming Purdue's standards for consent and sexual misconduct.

Sexual assault is addressed in the student handbook.

Mental-health services for survivors of sexual assault are made more accessible, which might include prioritizing victims of sexual assault in providing them with mental-health assistance.

## **Committee Votes:**

**Advisors** Melanie Morgan

For:	Against:	Abstained:	Absent:
Faculty		Advisors	Faculty
Birgit Kaufmann		Heather Beasley	Bradley Alge
David Sanders		-	Chittaranjan Das
Steven Scott			Alan M. Friedman
Jane F. Yatcilla			Alexander Kildishev
			Felicia Roberts
Students			Mark Rochat
<b>Mohamed Bouftas</b>			Dennis Savaiano
Kamryn Bridges			Rusi Taleyarkhan
Ailin Fei			Haiyan (Henry) Zhang
Lilian Ferguson			
Veronica Reynolds			Advisors
Matt Stachler			Beth McCuskey