Purdue University Mark

Purdue University

Facts Online

Colleges and Schools

Agriculture Management
Education  Pharmacy, Nursing, and Health Sciences
Engineering Science
Health and Human Sciences Technology
Liberal Arts Veterinary Medicine







College of Agriculture

One of two divisions originally established at Purdue in 1869. It now consists of 11 academic departments.

College of Education

Established as a department of education in 1908, it became a school in 1989 and a college in 2005. It is accredited by the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) and the Indiana Department of Education and is in compliance with Title II reporting requirements.

In addition to the degrees offered through the college, teacher preparation programs are offered in collaboration with the colleges of Agriculture, Consumer and Family Sciences, Liberal Arts, Science, and Technology.

College of Engineering

Four-year programs in civil and mechanical engineering first became available in 1875. The college now has 11 schools and three divisions. It ranks among the largest in the United States, and both its undergraduate and graduate programs are highly ranked by U.S. News & World Report.

College of Health and Human Sciences

Established July 1, 2010, the college brings together nine existing academic units on campus in an effort to enhance student opportunities and promote faculty collaborations aimed at improving health and quality of life.

College of Liberal Arts

Established in 1963 as the School of Humanities, Social Science, and Education, it was renamed in 1989 and 2005. The college currently has 12 academic departments.

Krannert School of Management

Established in 1958 through the merging of the Department of Industrial Management and Transportation and the Department of Economics. It is recognized as one of the top business schools in the country.

College of Pharmacy

Originally established as a two-year school of pharmacy in 1884, it currently offers programs leading to a BS and a PharmD. Graduate degrees and advanced postgraduate residencies also are offered.

College of Science

Established in 1962, the college has seven academic departments, including the first computer science department in the nation.

College of Technology

Founded in 1964 to provide appropriate career educational opportunities to students whose technological interests and aptitudes are application-oriented. Now one of the nation’s largest, it consists of eight academic departments and resides in 10 Indiana communities in addition to the West Lafayette campus.

School of Veterinary Medicine

Established as a school in 1957, it opened in 1959. In addition to its associate, baccalaureate, and graduate programs, the school cooperates with the Indiana University School of Medicine to offer first- and second-year courses.

Feedback | E-mail Webmaster
Maintained by: Marketing and Media

Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600
© 2009-10 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints
If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact Purdue Marketing and Media at marketing@purdue.edu.