Regenstrief Center for Healthcare Engineering

RCHE Faculty Research Associates

RCHE Faculty Research Associates represent colleges and departments from all around Purdue's campus. These researchers share overlapping interests with the center, and may work on center projects or be funded by the center.

Contact rche@purdue.edu to request to be added as a research associate.

Faculty Research Associates 

NameE-mailDepartmentResearch Interests
Dulcy Abraham dulcy@purdue.edu Civil Engineering
Kathy Abrahamson kaabraha@purdue.edu Nursing long term care quality, social environment of nursing work, organizational processes of care delivery
James Anderson andersonj@purdue.edu Sociology Medical error prevention
Tom Brady tbradyjr@pnc.edu Industrial Engineering Technology analysis, design and improvement of large-scale systems, using simulation and optimization technology.
Melanie Braswell braswell@purdue.edu Nursing Healthcare TAP; Perioperative Nursing and Nursing Informatics
Jeff Brewer jbrewer@purdue.edu Computer Technology Systems analysis and design, computer-aided software engineering (CASE), agile development methodologies, IT project management and Telecare/Telemedic
Barrett Caldwell bscaldwell@purdue.edu Industrial Engineering human factors and sociotechnical systems engineering; distributed supervisory control; team coordination and task performance; knowledge management
Suresh Chand suresh.chand.1@purdue.edu Management operations management; production lot sizing and scheduling for multiperiod production inventory problems with varying demand forecasts
Karen Chang ckchang@purdue.edu Nursing health information technology
Victor Chen victorchen@purdue.edu Computer Graphics Technology

Information Visualization, Visual Analytics, Human Computer Interaction, Interactive Systems for aging people

Bill Cleveland wsc@purdue.edu Statistics computer networking, data visualization, statistical model-building, time series
Chris Clifton clifton@cs.purdue.edu Computer Science privacy issues in analysis of healthcare data
Bart Collins bcollins@purdue.edu Communication telemedicine, tele-health and health literacy
W. Dale Compton dcompton@purdue.edu Industrial Engineering industrial engineering
Gordon Coppoc coppoc@purdue.edu Veterinary Clinical Services medical informatics; school of medicine
Michael Criswell criswelm@purdue.edu Nursing critical care outcomes; nursing simulation
Brad Duerstock bsd@purdue.edu Center for Paralysis Research assistive technology, neurological recovery, physiological monitoring
Vincent Duffy duffy@purdue.edu Industrial Engineering digital human modeling; human factors; computer-aided design
Benjamin Dunford bdunford@purdue.edu Management Employee relations and health care effectiveness, burnout, participative management, organizational development, team building, medical errors.
Phillip Dunston dunston@purdue.edu Civil Engineering Virtual Reality Applications for Construction Planning and Management; Construction Automation and Robotics
David Ebert ebert@purdue.edu Electrical and Computer Engineering Information security and privacy risks, risk perception and management, vulnerability analysis, cost-benefit analysis of information technology invest
Melissa Franks mmfranks@purdue.edu Child Development and Family Studies Aging families, marriage and health, health behaviors and chronic illness management
Robert Hannemann hanneman@purdue.edu Biomedical Engineering biomedical engineering, healthcare engineering, pediatrics
Marietta Harrison harrisonm@purdue.edu Pharmacy Practice  
Tyler Harrison tharrison@purdue.edu Communication organizational influence on health-related campaigns
Jeanne Holdren jholdren@purdue.edu Nursing health policy
Blake Jones blakejones@purdue.edu Human Development & Family Studies population health, how routines and access impact child obesity
Nan Kong nkong@purdue.edu Biomedical Engineering discrete optimization under uncertainty
Mark Lawley malawley@purdue.edu Biomedical Engineering
Kai Ming Li mmkmli@purdue.edu Industrial Engineering acoustics
Sandra Liu liuss@purdue.edu Consumer Sciences and Retailing Consumerism in healthcare delivery; sales management in a knowledge era; customer capital and structural capital in healthcare industry
James McGlothlin jdm3@purdue.edu Health & Kinesiology ergonomics, industrial hygiene, epidemiology
David McKinnis mckinnis@purdue.edu HealthcareTAP quality; safety; productivity
Susan Morgan semorgan@purdue.edu Communication Construction of persuasive messages to strengthen health communication campaigns.
Ioannis Papapanagiotou ipapapan@purdue.edu Computer and Information Technology cloud computing infrustructure, data analytics
Joe Pekny pekny@purdue.edu Systems analysis, combinatorial optimization, supply chain management, planning and scheduling systems, pharmaceutical pipeline management, model-base
Kimberly Plake kplake@purdue.edu Pharmacy Practice health literacy
Doraiswami Ramkrishna ramkrish@ecn.purdue.edu Chemical Engineering Metabolic modeling and Engineering, Modeling of Cancer Therapy, Chemical Reaction Engineering
Polly Royal proyal@purdue.edu Nursing involvement with the legislative process at the state and national levels, which address the factors influencing the current nursing shortage
Chip Rutledge chipr@purdue.edu   care coordination, physician-patient interaction, patient-family interaction, disclosure of stigmatized/sensitive information
Laura Sands lsands@nursing.purdue.edu Nursing optimal functioning in vulnerable older adults; long-term care environments; disability in older adults; database analysis
Pankaj Sharma sharma@purdue.edu   detection of tuberculosis; climate change; global health; product lifecycle management
Cleveland Shields cgshields@purdue.edu Child Development and Family Studies Families and health, healthcare, family interventions in health, patient-centered care, couples and cancer
Thomas Siegmund siegmund@purdue.edu Mechanical Engineering solid mechanics; bone mechanics; mechanics of phon.ation
Howard Sypher hsypher@purdue.edu Communication Health communication; communication and technology
Thomas Talavage tmt@purdue.edu Electrical and Computer Engineering  
Joseph Thomas jt3@pharmacy.purdue.edu Pharmacy Practice health outcomes; cost of treatment analysis; dementia; medication use among elderly persons
Maria Venetis mvenetis@purdue.edu Communication
Juan Wachs jpwachs@purdue.edu Industrial Engineering  
Hong Wan hwan@purdue.edu Industrial Engineering  
Mark Daniel Ward mdw@purdue.edu Statistics Analysis and Design of Algorithms and Data Structures, Analytic Combinatorics, Applied Probability, Asymptotics, Data Compression, Game Theory, Information Theory, Pattern Matching, Probability and Analysis, Probability Theory, Random Structures, Random Walk, Symbolic Computation, Tree Structures.
Sharon Weiner sweiner@purdue.edu Libraries Information literacy, health literacy, and all affiliated literacies; higher education organization, administration, and leadership
Steve Witz witz@purdue.edu RCHE application of engineering, science and management principles to transform healthcare delivery
Karen Yehle kyehle@purdue.edu Nursing telehealth; cardiovavscular nursing
Ji Soo Yi yij@purdue.edu Industrial Engineering human-computer interaction, information visualization, mobile computing, and assistive technology
Yuehwern Yih yih@purdue.edu Industrial Engineering system design; flow analysis; scheduling and resource allocation
Lingsong Zhang lingsong@purdue.edu Statistics Bioinformatics and Biologically Related Disciplines (genomics, nutrition, proteomics, statistical genetics), Computational Methods for Statistical Inference, Data Mining, Data Visualization, Genomics, Machine Learning, Massive Data, Modeling and Model Selection, Nonparametric Regression/Density and Models, Proteomics, Statistical Genetics, Time Series.

About RCHE

Applying academic research to transform healthcare delivery.


Affiliates and Programs