Purdue Homeland Security Institute

Purdue Homeland Security Institute

Faculty and Staff Partners

Jump to last name: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | J | K | L | M | R | S | V | W

Pamela Aaltonen

Pamela Aaltonen
Deptartment: Nursing
Email: aaltonen@purdue.edu
Website: Department Link
Research Interests: Dr. Altonen’s research interests include bioterrorism, public health systems, and local health department approach to egovernment.

Dulcy Abraham


Department: Civil Engineering/Construction Management and Engineering Technology
Email: dulcy@purdue.edu
Websites: Personal Link | Department Link
Research Interest: Dr. Abraham’s research interests include infrastructure assessment and rehabilitation.

Doug Adams

Department: Mechanical Engineering
Email: deadams@purdue.edu
Websites: Personal Link | Department Link
Research Interest: Dr. Adams’ research interests include deploying nonlinear dynamics for design and control and structural condition/health monitoring and diagnostics.

Arun Bhunia


Department: Food Sciences
Email: bhunia@purdue.edu
Websites: Personal Link | Department Link
Research Interest: Dr. Bhunia’s research interests include pathogen detection and pathogenic mechanism of enteric pathogens.

Randy Black

Department: Health and Kinesiology
Email: dblack@purdue.edu
Websites: Purdue: Health and Kinesiology
Research Interests: Public Health, Epidemiology, Pandemic Influenza, Emergency Preparedness

Mireille Boutin

Department:Electrical and Computer Engineering
Email: mboutin@purdue.edu
Websites: Personal Link | Department Link
Research Interest: Dr. Boutin’s specializes in algorithm development. Her research interests include image processing, automatic recognition and browsing, automatic language translation, and mobile device applications.

John Burr

Department: Consumer Sciences and Retailing
Email: jburr@purdue.edu
Research Interest: Dr. Burr’s research interests include the effects of capital structure, geographic knowledge spillover, and electronic mediated spillover.

Bert Chapman

Department: Health and Kinesiology
Email: chapmanb@purdue.edu

Alok Chaturvedi



Department: Management
Email: alok@purdue.edu
Websites: Personal Link | Department Link
Research Interest: Dr. Chaturvedi’s research interests include simulation of societal reaction in times of disaster and cyber terrorism. He is also the Director of the Synthetic Environment for Analysis and Simulation (SEAS) Laboratory.

Chan Choi

Department: Nuclear Engineering
Email: choi@purdue.edu
Websites: Department Link
Research Interest: Dr. Choi’s research interests include fusion plasma engineering and energy conversion.

Bill Cleveland

Department: Statistics
Email: wsc@purdue.edu
Websites: Personal Link | Department Link
Research Interest: Dr. Cleveland’s research interests include data visualization and computer network monitoring and forensics for information assurance.

William Collins

Department: Communications
Email: bcollins@purdue.edu
Website: Department Link
Research Interest: Dr. Collins’ research interests include healthcare communications. He is the Director of Healthcare Communications at the Regenstrief Center for Healthcare Engineering.

Chief Cox

Department: Purdue University Police Department
Email: jkcox@purdue.edu
Websites: Purdue Police Department
Research Interests: Public Safety

Melba Crawford

Department: Agronomy/Civil Engineering
Email: mcrawford@purdue.edu
Website: Department Link
Research Interest: Dr. Crawford’s research interests include geomatics engineering, high dimensional data analysis, and data fusion techniques for multisensor problems. She is also the Director of Laboratory for Applications of Remote Sensing (LARS).

Eric Dietz

Eric Dietz
Department: Computer and Information Technology/PHSI
Email: jedietz@purdue.edu
Website: Department Link

Mary Dugan

Mary Dugan

Department: Libraries
Email: mdugan@purdue.edu
Website: Department Link
Research Interest: Resource development librarian/Assistant Professor of Library Science


Steve Elliot

Steve Elliot

Department: Industrial Technology
Email:elliott@purdue.edu
Website: Department Link
Research Interest: Dr. Elliot’s research interests include biometric technology and dynamic signature verification.

Richard Feinberg

Department: Consumer Sciences and Retailing
Email: xdj1@purdue.edu
Websites: Personal Link | Department Link
Research Interest: Dr. Feinburg’s research interests include customer service and satisfaction, shopping centers, and the strategic role of call centers.

William Field

Department: Agricultural and Biological Engineering
Email: field@purdue.edu
Website: Department Link
Research Interest: Dr. Field’s research interests include ag systems management. He leads the Purdue agricultural health and safety program and has been an instructor for one of the core courses in the homeland security masters area of specialization.

Jay Gore

Department: Mechanical Engineering
Email: gore@purdue.edu
Websites: Personal Link | Department Link
Research Interest: Dr. Gore’s research interests include combustion and heat transfer in material processing. He is also Director of the Energy Center.

Stephen Hooser

Department: Comparative Pathobiology
Email: shooser1@purdue.edu
Website: Department Link
Research Interest: Dr. Hooser is the Director of the Animal Disease Diagnostic Laboratory (ADDL). The ADDL is a diagnostic laboratory capable of diagnosing all animal diseases from infectious and chemical causes. This includes foreign animal/exotic diseases. Faculty at the ADDL are also involved in the development and validation of new testing methodologies and vaccines.

Jefferson Howells

Jefferson Howells

Department: Campus Emergency Preparedness and Planning Office
Email: jfhowells@purdue.edu
Websites: Emergency Preparedness

Inez Hua

Department: Civil Engineering/Environmental and Ecological Engineering
Email: hua@purdue.edu
Websites: Personal Link | Department Link
Research Interest: Dr. Hua’s research interests include the fate and transport of chemical contaminants, environmental chemistry, and industrial ecology and sustainability

Igor Jovanovic

Department: Nuclear Engineering
Email: ijovanovic@purdue.edu
Websites: Personal Link | Department Link
Research Interest: Dr. Jovanovic’s research interests include radiation detector development for nuclear power and materials and the short-pulse ultraintense laser technology.

Richard Kuhn

Department: Biological Sciences
Email: kuhnr@purdue.edu
Website: Department Link
Research Interest: Dr. Kuhn’s research interests include understanding the biology of viruses that infect humans, molecular biology, and animal virology. He is also the Director of the Bindley Bioscience Center.

Eric Kukula

Department: Industrial Technology
Email: kukula@purdue.edu
Website: Department Link
Research Interest: Dr. Kukula’s research interests include Human-Biometric Sensor Interaction and Automatic Identification and Data Capture.

Dean Larson

Department: Construction Management and Engineering Technology
Email: drlarson@jorsm.com
Research Interest: Dean serves as a Commissioner on the Indiana Emergency Response Commission and the Certified Emergency Manager (CEM) Commission. He is a principal member of the NFPA 1600 Committee and Head of the US Delegation to ISO/TC 223 on Societal security.

Mark Lawley

Department: Biomedical Engineering
Email: malawley@purdue.edu
Website: Department Link
Research Interest: Dr. Lawley’s research interests include public health planning for pandemic influenza scenarios, healthcare systems engineering, analysis of patient flow, and automated patient flow tracking.

Richard Linton

Department: Food Sciences
Email: linton@purdue.edu
Website: Department Link
Research Interest: Dr. Linton’s research interests include growth and inactivation of foodborne pathogens in different foods and retail food safety and quality programs.

Annette Litster

Department: Veterinary Clinical Sciences
Email: catvet@purdue.edu
Website: Department Link
Research Interest: Dr. Litster’s research interests include clinical epidemiology.

Shelly MacDermid

Department: Child Development and Family Studies
Email: shelley@purdue.edu
Websites: Department Link
Research Interest: Dr. MacDermid’s research interests include the relationships between work conditions and family life, military families, family stress, and job flexibility.

Raymond Martyn

Department: Botany and Plant Pathology
Email: rmartyn@purdue.edu
Website: Department Link
Research Interest: Dr. Martyn’s research interests include etiology and the management of soilborne diseases of melons.

Eric Matson

Professor Eric Matson

Department: Computer and Information Technology
Email: ematson@purdue.edu
Website: M2M Laboratory
 Research Interest:Professor Matson's research interests are in the areas of multiagent systems and agent organizations, autonomous robotics and intelligent systems.  He also has an extensive background in software engineering and development.


James McGlothlin

Department: Health Sciences
Email: jdm3@purdue.edu
Websites: Personal Link | Department Link
Research Interest: Dr. McGlothlin’s research interests include industrial hygiene and ergonomics to decrease injuries and promote health in the occupational environment.

Richard Mislan

Kenneth Musselman

Department: Regenstrief Center for Healthcare Engineering
Email: kenmus@purdue.edu
Website: Department Link
Research Interest: Dr. Musselman’s research interests include the interoperability and security of health information systems, trend and root cause analyses of patient safety issues, and operational efficiency and effectiveness of healthcare delivery processes.

Chief Kevin Ply

Email: kmply@purdue.edu

Randy Rapp

Department: Building Construction Management
Email: rrapp@purdue.edu
Website: Department Link
Research Interest: Dr. Rapp’s research interests are primarily aligned with the Disaster Restoration and Reconstruction Management concentration that he coordinates at Purdue. However, he has served as a consultant for and taught about a wide range of managerial and technical subjects in construction.

Jacquelyn Rees

Department: Management
Email: jrees@purdue.edu
Websites: Personal Link | Department Link
Research Interest: Dr. Rees’ research interests include the implications of information security and privacy on business and managers and the role of security policy as the vehicle for managing information security-related risks. She is also involved with the Center for Education, Research, and Information Assurance (CERIAS).

Marcus Rogers

Department: Computer and Information Technology
Email: rogersmk@purdue.edu
Website: Department Link
Research Interest: Dr. Rogers’ research interests include applied cyber forensics and cyber terrorism. He is also the Director of the Cyber Forensics Program and the cyber forensics masters area of specialization.

David Sanders

Department: Biological Sciences
Email: retrovir@purdue.edu
Website: Department Link
Research Interest: Dr. Sanders’ research interests include biodefense, pandemics, Ebola virus, vaccination strategies, and gene therapy.

Carroll Shelby

Department: Environmental Health and Public Safety, Physical Facilities
Email: cshelby@purdue.edu
Websites: Emergeny Preparedness
Research Interests: Large venue security, NIMS training, emergency response.

Eugene Spafford

Department: Computer Science
Email: spaf@purdue.edu
Websites: Personal Link | Department Link
Research Interest: Dr. Spafford’s research interests include computer and network security, cyber crime and ethics, and the social impact of computing. He is the founder and executive director of the Center for Education and Research in Information Assurance and Security (CERIAS).

Rod Vandeveer

Department: Organizational Leadership and Supervision
Email: vandevee@purdue.edu
Website: Department Link
Research Interest: Dr. Vandeveer’s research interests include industrial leadership and supervisory training. He has also been an instructor for one of the core courses in the homeland security masters area of specialization.

Amit Varma

Department: Civil Engineering
Email: ahvarma@purdue.edu
Websites: Personal Link | Department Link
Research Interest: Dr. Varma’s research interests include structural engineering , seismic and fire behavior, and repair and retrofit of deterioration and damaged infrastructure.

Ramesh Vemulapalli

Department: Comparative Pathobiology
Email:rvemulap@purdue.edu
Website: Department Link
Research Interest: Dr. Vemulapalli’s research interests include infectious diseases and vaccine development.

Steven Witz

Department: Regenstrief Center for Healthcare Engineering
Email: switz@purdue.edu
Website: Department Link
Research Interest: Dr. Witz’ research interests include science and management principles to transform healthcare delivery.

Cliff Wojtalewicz

Cliff Wojtalewicz

Department: e-Enterprise Center
Email: wojtalew@purdue.edu

Ron Wright

Department: Public Safety, Campus
Email: rdwright@purdue.edu
Websites: Emergeny Preparednes

Homeland Security Courses

Want to study homeland security and emergency management? Enrollment is now open for Fall 2013:

 


Current Events

No current events were found.


PHSI Partners


Contact

Address
Purdue Homeland Security Institute
203 South Martin Jischke Dr., Rm. 166
Purdue University
West Lafayette, IN 47907-1971


      Twitter       facebook