Jump to main page content
Purdue signature

College of Science

Plans of Study

The College of Science undergraduate program gives you the opportunity to acquire a broad science education and/or to concentrate your studies in one of more than 60 specialized scientific areas. This wide variety of study is provided by the seven academic departments — Biological Sciences; Chemistry; Computer Science; Earth, Atmospheric and Planetary Sciences; Mathematics; Physics; and Statistics — and by the Interdisciplinary Science major as supplemented by courses offered in other colleges/schools of the University.

All of the options described in these plans of study are based on major programs in the College of Science. The names of the options are frequently taken from the supplementary courses. Students who want more depth in one of these supplementary areas than is possible while pursuing a science major should consult the catalog of the college/school offering the supplemental courses for a possible major in that field.

In charts throughout "Plans of Study," figures enclosed in parentheses signify the number of credit hours, e.g., (3) signifies three credit hours.

In addition to satisfying various University-wide degree requirements, each science student must complete the core curriculum requirements of the college and of a departmental major or the requirements of an interdisciplinary science major.

Seven academic departments offer scientific majors; the interdisciplinary science major is for students whose interests and professional plans require broad training in several sciences, and in many cases, substantial work outside the College of Science. Examples of career objectives that might be met within interdisciplinary science include science and technical writing, food science, prelaw, biometry and environmental science.