From left to right:  Patrice M. Buzzanell, Lynn Bryan, April Mason, JoAnn Browning, Provost Dutta

Distinguished Women Scholars 

The Office of the Provost, in partnership with the Butler Center for Leadership Excellence, honors alumnae who earned a Purdue doctorate and have made significant scholarly contributions to their respective academic communities.  

By recognizing our academic women of distinction, we also acknowledge and celebrate our faculty’s contributions to mentoring these successful scholars and recognize Purdue’s role in diversifying university faculty across the nation. At the same time, we symbolize to our undergraduate and graduate students the possibilities a Purdue doctorate enables. We hope the recipients will be role models to all of our scholars in the making.

The selected recipient of the award, includes an earned doctorate from Purdue and distinguished scholarly success within one’s chosen field. Recipients are invited to campus to be honored as part of Purdue’s celebration of Women’s History Month. 

2015 awardees:

Right to left:  Provost Debba Dutta, Dr. April Mason, Dr. Lynn Bryan, Dr. JoAnn Browning

  • Distinguished Women ScholarsDr. April Mason graduated from Purdue in 1984 with a Ph.D. in foods and nutrition. She is currently the provost and senior vice president at Kansas State University and a professor in the Department of Human Nutrition.
  • Distinguished Women ScholarsDr. Renu Khator (not pictured) earned a Ph.D. in political science/public administration in 1985 and a master’s degree in political science in 1975, also from Purdue. She is the Chancellor and President of the University of Houston in Texas.
  • distDr. Lynn Bryan earned a Ph.D. in science education in 1997. She serves as a professor of science education with a joint appointment in the Departments of Physics and Curriculum and Instruction and is the Director of Purdue’s Center for Advancing the Teaching and Learning of STEM (CATALYST).
  • Distinguished Women ScholarsDr. JoAnn Browning graduated in 1998 with a Ph.D. in civil engineering. She is currently the Dean of the College of Engineering and the David and Jennifer Spencer Distinguished Chair for the Dean of Engineering at the University of Texas at San Antonio.

2014 awardees:

  • Distinguished Women ScholarsCarole Ames, Ph.D., Dean and Professor of Educational Psychology, College of Education, Michigan State University: Purdue Psychological Sciences Ph.D. 1976
  • Distinguished Women ScholarsVirginia Ayres, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Departments of Electrical & Computer Engineering, Michigan State UniversityPurdue Physics Ph.D. 1985
  • Distinguished Women ScholarsGloria Muday, Ph.D., Professor, Department of Biology, Wake Forest UniversityPurdue Biochemistry Ph.D. 1989
  • Distinguished Women ScholarsKathryn Stecke, Ph.D., Ashbel Smith Professor of Operations Management, Naveen Jindal School of Management at the University of Texas at DallasPurdue Industrial Engineering Ph.D. 1981
  • Distinguished Women ScholarsLeslie Struble, Ph.D., Affiliate, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign: Purdue Civil Engineering Ph.D. 1987
  • Distinguished Women ScholarsCarolyn Perrucci, Ph.D., Head, Department of Sociology and Anthropology, Purdue University:Purdue Sociology Ph.D. 1965

2013 awardees:

  • Distinguished Women ScholarsDorothy Denning, Ph.D., Distinguished Professor, Department of Defense and Analysis at the Naval Postgraduate School in Monterey, CA. Purdue Computer Science, 1975
  • Image result for annette LagrecaAnnette LaGreca, Ph.D., Professor and Pediatrics and Director of Clinical Training, University of Miami: Purdue Psychology Ph.D. 1978

2012 awardees:

  • Distinguished Women ScholarsJane Butler Kahle, the Condit Professor of Science Education Emerita at Miami University
  • Distinguished Women ScholarsCarolyn Woo, chief executive officer and president of Catholic Relief Services
  • Distinguished Women ScholarsKathleen Blake Yancey, the Kellogg W. Hunt Professor of English and Distinguished Research Professor at Florida State University.
2015 Distinguished Women Scholars Ceremony

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

2015 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Susan Bulkeley Butler Center for Leadership Excellence

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact Susan Bulkeley Butler Center for Leadership Excellence at