SYMPOSIUM (open to all)

Monday, October 30, 2017

6:00 pm - Welcome Cocktail Party: Hotel Cottage, Montevideo

Tuesday, October 31, 2017

Location: Universidad de Montevideo, Puntas de Santiago 1604

Masters of Ceremonies: Graciela Sabini, MD (Ministry of Health, Uruguay) and Sophie Lelièvre, DVM, LLM.PH, PhD (Center for Cancer Research, Purdue University, USA)

8:30-9:00 am Registration
9:00-9:15 am Welcome by the Co-chairs (Drs. Sabini, Lelièvre, Weaver, and Bellanger), and introductory remarks by Dr. Lucía Delgado, Dir., National Cancer Control Program, Ministry of Public Health, Uruguay
9:15-10:00 am Symposium Keynote Speaker: Donald Chalmers, PhD, Faculty of Law, University of Tasmania, Australia

Session 1

10:00-10:20 am

Breast Cancer Prevention ...from around the world

Chair: Lucía Delgado, MD – Dir., National Cancer Control Program, Ministry of Public Health, Uruguay

Co-Chair: Marisa Fazzino, MD, Head, Dept of Oncology, Police Hospital

Seile Yohannes, MS, Department of Biology, Jijiga University, Ethiopia

10:20-10:40 am Gilberto Schwartsmann, MD, Dir. Kaplan Institute, Porto Alegre, Brazil
10:40-11:00 am TBD - Ghana
11:00-11:20 am Break
11:20-11:40 am Eduardo Richardet, MD, Dir. Teaching and Research Oncology Institute, Córdoba, Argentina
11:40am-12:00pm Mary Beth Terry PhD, Columbia University, Public Health, USA
12:00-12:20 pm Alvaro Vázquez, MD, Dir. Mastology, University of Montevideo, Uruguay
12:20-2:20 pm

Poster Session & Reception with Welcome Buffet

2:30-3:15 pm Symposium Keynote: Leroy Hood, MD, PhD, Institute for Systems Biology and Providence St. Joseph Health, Seattle, USA

Session 2

3:15-3:25 pm

Tissue biobanks for primary prevention reserach

Chair: Bettina Muller, ‎ MD, Nat’l Cancer Institute Santiago, Chile

Co-Chair:Beatrice Wiafe-Addai, MD, Dir. Peace & Love Hospital, Ghana

Introductory remarks by Chair

3:25:-3:50 pm Maimuna Mendy, PhD, International Agency for Research on Cancer Laboratory Services and Biobank, Lyon, France
3:50-4:05 pm Break
4:05-4:30 pm Gonzalo Ardao MD, Latin American and Caribbean Biobank Network (REBLAC)
4:30-4:55 pm Patricia Thompson-Carino, PhD, Stony Brook School of Medicine, USA
5:00-6:00 pm Debate
6:00 pm Dinner on your own

Wednesday, November 1, 2017

Universidad de Montevideo, Puntas de Santiago 1604

Masters of Ceremonies: Graciela Sabini, MD (Ministry of Health, Uruguay) and Sophie Lelièvre, DVM, LLM.PH, PhD (Center for Cancer Research, Purdue University, USA)

8:00-8:30 am Registration (continued)
8:30-9:15 am Symposium Keynote: Hélène Sancho-Garnier, MD, JDB Cancer Prevention Fundation, Fontenay les Briis, France , “Breast cancer primary Prevention: Efficacy and Ethic”

Session 3

9:15-9:30 am

Sustainable biobanks for natural sources of protective compounds

Chair: Lie-Fen Shyur, PhD, Academia Sinica, Taiwan

Co-Chair: Victoria Seewaldt, MD, City of Hope, USA

Introductory remarks by Chair

9:30-9:55 am Gary Williamson PhD, University of Leeds, UK
9:55-10:20 am Rabih Talhouk, PhD American University of Beirut, Lebanon, “The Nature Conservation Center: An interdisciplinary approach for sustainable biobanks of plant-derived protective compounds.”
10:20-10:45 am Sheng-Yang (David) Wang, PhD, Dept. of Forestry, National Chung Hsing University, Taiwan
10:45-11:00 am Break

Session 4

11:00-11:10 am

Making sense of epigenetic information for cancer risk assessment

Chair: Nora Artagaveytia MD, Faculty of Medicine, Montevideo, Uruguay

Co-Chair: Marisa Dreyer, MD, INCA, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Introductory remarks by Co-Chair

11:10-11:35 am Bernardo Bertoni, MD, Dir. Genetics Dept., Faculty of Medicine, Uruguay
11:35-12:00 pm Justin Colacino, PhD, University of Michigan, USA;
12:00-12:25pm Alfonso Cayota, MD, Head, cancer functional genomics, Uruguay
12:15-2:00 pm

Award lunch

Susan Bulkeley Butler Leadership Excellence Award and lecture

Anna Maria Storniolo, MD, Indiana University Simon Cancer Center, USA
Susan Bulkeley Butler Leadership Excellence Award for continuous efforts in cancer prevention: “The Komen Tissue Bank at 10 Years: The Power of Normal, The Power of Women”

Tabaré Vázquez, MD, President of Uruguay, (note: this award will be given at a ceremony to be held at the Presidential House prior to the symposium)

2:00-3:00 pm

Catherine Peachy Oral Presentations (graduate and postgraduate trainees)

Chair: Michele Forman, PhD, Head, Nutrition Science, Purdue, USA

Session 5

3:00-3:25 pm

Nutrition studies, guidelines for international endeavor

Chair: Connie Weaver, PhD, Dir. Global Women Health Inst., Purdue University, USA

Co-Chair: Carmen Donangelo, PhD, University of the Republic, Uruguay

Isabel Bove, PhD, Ministry of Health, Uruguay

3:25-3:50 pm Nahla Houalla, PhD, Dean, Faculty of Agriculture and Food Sciences, American University of Beirut, Lebanon
“Mapping Studies on Nutrition and Non-Communicable Diseases in Arab Countries: Towards informed National and International Research Agendas”
3:50-4:15 pm

Connie Rogers, PhD, MPH, Pennsylvania State University, USA

4:15-4:30 pm Break

Session 6

4:30-4:55 pm

Ethics and policy for resource sharing and international exchange (public lectures)

Chair: Martine Bellanger, PhD, French School of Public Health, France

Co-Chair: Alberto Viola MD, Faculty of Medicine, Montevideo Uruguay

Delia Sanchez, MD, Dir. Bioethics Department, University of the Republic, Uruguay

4:55-5:20 pm Deborah Mascalzoni, PhD, Uppsala University, Sweden
5:20-5:45 pm Fernando Lavadenz, MD, Latin America, World Bank
5:45-6:30 pm
Debate - Wrap Up (lead by Martine Bellanger, Connie Weaver and Nora Artagaveytia)
8:00 pm - on

Symposium Party (Tango, Candombe and traditional food…..)

Location TBD

FacebookVisit our page on Facebook