Jump to other news and events
Purdue signature

Community Spirit Award

The Community Spirit Award seeks to recognize Purdue employees' outstanding service to the community, society and humanity.

Administrative, professional, clerical and service staff members are eligible for the award. APSAC and the Clerical and Service Staff Advisory Committee (CSSAC) created the award in 2011.

The number and quality of recommendations the award committee receives will determine the number of awards given this year. A primary nominee will be selected, but others also may be recognized as honorable mentions.

Nadine Dolby, professor of curriculum and instruction, received the 2012 Community Spirit Award for her volunteer work at Almost Home Humane Society in Lafayette. 

The 2011 Community Spirit Award winner was Melissa Swathwood, a research and faculty secretary for the School of Nursing. In addition to other service endeavors, she organizes events benefitting cancer research, Food Finders Food Bank, March of Dimes, Relay for Life and the American Heart Association.

More details about the eligibility requirements, as well as the nomination form, will be available at a later date.