Jump to main page content
Purdue signature
facebook google twitter instagram youtube vimeo

English Speaking Countries

The Graduate School will routinely waive the TOEFL/IELTS/PTE for applicants who have received a baccalaureate degree or graduate or professional degree, within the last 24 months, from a school where English is the primary language of instruction in a country/location where English is the native language. Some graduate programs may still require a test of English proficiency for admission; please confirm with your department whether they will also grant this waiver.

If you are admitted under this waiver and are still finishing your degree, you must satisfactorily complete your degree and submit a final official transcript showing that this degree has been awarded BEFORE the Office of International Students and Scholars (ISS) can produce your US immigration document (I-20 or DS-2019).

Official English-speaking countries/locations, in addition to the U.S., include:

Anguilla Liberia
Antigua and Barbuda Micronesia
Australia Montserrat
Bahamas New Zealand
Barbados Nigeria
Belize Norfolk Island
Bermuda Papua New Guinea
Botswana Philippines
British Virgin Islands Pitcarin Islands
Canada Republic of Ireland
Cayman Islands Sierra Leone
Christmas Island Singapore
Cook Islands South Sudan
Dominica St. Helena
Fiji St. Kitts and Nevis
The Gambia St. Lucia
Ghana St. Vincent and Grenadines
Gibraltar Swaziland
Grenada Tanzania
Guyana Trinidad and Tobago
Isle of Man Turks and Caicos Islands
Jamaica Uganda
Kenya United Kingdom
Lesotho Zambia